Khumbu Heritage Trail

Understanding the life of Nepali Sherpas

Khumbu – the roof of the world. Home of the highest mountains of our beautiful planet and home of probably the most famous mountain people in the world: the Sherpa. Especially the 8.848 m high Mount Everest has made this formerly extremely remote mountain region one of the most sought-after destinations for hikers and mountaineers.
And with good reason: there will hardly be a traveler whose mouth did not drop open at the first sight of Mount Everest and all the other six-, seven- and eight-thousanders. In addition, there is a cultural heritage that will accompany and fascinate you on the whole trip: Buddhism characterizes the life of the Sherpa and is visible at almost every corner. Just think of the Buddhist flags hanging everywhere, the gompas with their monks and the chortens in every village. Combined with the hospitality of the Sherpa people, this makes for an almost irresistible package for open-minded outdoor enthusiasts.
On the “Khumbu Heritage Trail” not only the landscape, but above all the life of the Sherpas is the central theme. You will travel with them and take part in their daily life and culture. Discuss with them how they farm or what significance the yak has in one of the highest inhabited regions on earth. You will travel off the beaten track and be guests of Sherpa families – and always accompanied by Mingma Sherpa, our well-traveled Fair Trails expert from Namche Bazar. If you return home feeling that the region has so much more to offer than “just” Mount Everest, then we have achieved our goal!

01 — THE MYTH

The world famous
mountain ethnicity

01

The landscape shapes life: The Sherpas from the Khumbu region at the foot of Mount Everest are probably the most famous indigenous people in the world and live in one of the highest areas on earth. © Anuj Adhikary

Sherpas are certainly the most famous ethnic group in the world. Pictures of Sherpas leading their clients to one of the most hostile places in the world, the summit of Mount Everest, went around the world. And the phrase “I’m not your Sherpa” has probably been heard by everyone. A sign of how well known the Sherpas are – but also a sign of how little we know about the people. The word “Sherpa” means neither “Nepalese mountaineer” nor “carrier”; but is – as already mentioned one of the many Nepalese ethnic groups. The people who live in the Khumbu region in one of the highest populated regions on earth around Mount Everest, Lhotse and Cho Oyu.
The region was extremely secluded until the start of tourist interest. The Sherpas, like any mountain people, had adapted perfectly to the remoteness and the harsh and barren local conditions. They were farmers and lived from trade over the passes of the Himalayas. Life was strongly influenced by Buddhism, as evidenced by the many gompas and chortens.
This life is still visible today. But of course tourism and the better accessibility especially through the adventurous airport in Lukla has changed the life of the Sherpas. In places along the famous trekking routes more and in villages far away much less. Along the famous trekking routes, many Sherpas work as guides or in lodges, while others engage in farming. Many Sherpas also spend a period of their lives abroad – outside of the Khumbu, the second most Sherpas are found in New York.

This is how the Sherpas have learned to master the balancing act between tradition and change. On the Khumbu Heritage Trail, accompanied by your Fair Trails expert Mingma Sherpa, you can gain a deep insight into the life of the Sherpas between tradition and modernity – off and also in the middle of the famous trekking trails. And – we bet – you will be so impressed that you will take home a part of the Khumbu in your heart.
+

Yak caravans along the historic trail from Paiya towards Everest: In the past, expeditions without this important form of transportation were unthinkable. © Trail Angels

Spectacular suspension bridges are one of the most famous symbols of the Khumbu region and require a certain head for heights. However, they are not only breathtaking in the true sense of the word, but also very important connecting lines over deep gorges. © Trail Angels
The transport of firewood is very arduous, especially in the higher villages, because with the increase in altitude the tree population becomes less and less. For this reason, dried yak dung is often used as fire material. © Anuj Adhikary
Two symbols of the Khumbu in one picture: the summit of the 6.814 m high Ama Dablam, one of the most beautiful mountains in the world, and in front of it a yak. © Anuj Adhikary
Bhote Koshi, a typical original Sherpa village with its small-scale agricultural structure. © Trail Angels
Encounters with the people – from young to old – are the real highlights of the trip. They make even the imposing glacier giants fade into the background. © Trail Angels
Namche Bazar with a rugged peak in the background is the bustling center of the Khumbu. © Trail Angels
A stupa in front of the imposing Ama Dablam – Buddhist symbols like this can be found everywhere in the Khumbu and are signs of a deeply rooted and practiced Buddhism. © Jay San Photography

02 — THE EXPERIENCE

Dive into the life
of the Sherpas

02

Yaks serve not only as transport animals, but also as one of the main sources of food for the Sherpas: they provide milk, and their meat for nutrition and their skin and fur are processed into clothing. They are also used as riding animals. © Trail Angels
THE ROUTE
Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
The Khumbu Heritage Trail takes you first on the historic land route of the first expeditions to Namche Bazar and then follows a loop through typical Sherpa villages back to Lukla © Trail Angels/Raj Gyawali
The Khumbu Heritage Trail through the Khumbu region in the heart of the Himalayas starts like all trips to Nepal in Kathmandu. Here you have time at the beginning of the trip to get to know the two philosophies that determine life in Nepal, Hinduism and Buddhism, and to make your first contacts with the Sherpa people.
However, you will not approach the Khumbu by flight to Lukla like most tourists, but you will drive like the locals with off-road vehicles a breathtaking route to Phaplu and further to Paiya, where your trekking begins. Now you follow the historic trail towards Everest, which was walked by all the Everest pioneers before the airport was built. This part of the trek via Surke and Chaurikarka is very quiet and paints a pristine picture of the Khumbu region and the Sherpa people, before you meet the popular main trek towards Mount Everest between Lukla and Phakding. It is like a shock of civilization after the quiet time, but this is also an inseparable part of today’s Khumbu. The landscape becomes more and more spectacular: rugged gorges are traversed, suspension bridges are crossed and more glaciated giants line your path. So it goes on via Monjo to the famous Sherpa villages of Namche and Thame. From Thame, you can climb the approximately 4.800m high Sundar Peak, the highest point of the trek and a fantastic vantage point, before reaching the two villages of Mende and Khumjung off the main trail, along paths only used by locals.
Now it’s downhill back to Namche and via Monjo to Lukla. Here it is time to say goodbye to the Khumbu and the Sherpas: From the adventurous airport in Lukla you will take the plane back to Kathmandu. Here you still have time to enjoy this breathtaking city before heading back home.

THE FAIR TRAILS EXPERT

Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
Mingma Sherpa is our competent Fair Trails expert for the Khumbu Heritage Trail. He has worked on the idea of the trail himself and can tell a lot of interesting things due to his strong involvement in the Khumbu. © Mingma Sherpa
Mingma Sherpa was born in Namche, right in the heart of the Everest Region, and at a very young age, came to Kathmandu to start his studies. Once he finished his studies, he travelled to the US to continue studying, and eventually even started working for the UN, in Nepal and abroad. The draw of his home village has now brought him back, and he went back to managing the family-owned Panorama Lodge, famously used by mountaineers since it started several decades ago. Today, he is a board member of the Namche Youth Club and an active proponent of taking the Sherpa culture back to it humble roots. He is one of the many young Sherpas who have come back, with a rekindled zeal and a passion to take the Sherpa image beyond just mountaineering, for which they are renown worldwide.
THE PROGRAM AND ITS HIGHLIGHTS
Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
The Khumbu offers an intense cultural exchange with the Sherpas as well as spectacular trails in a breathtaking mountain landscape. © Anuj Adhikary
The Khumbu Heritage Trail has set itself a great task. It is not only satisfied with the undoubtedly breathtaking landscape of the Khumbu with its glaciated six-, seven- and eight-thousand-meter peaks and the many wonderful witnesses of a living Buddhism such as chörts and gompas. He wants to show much more: namely to give deep insights into the life of perhaps the most famous mountain people in the world – the Sherpas. To do this, you will approach the Khumbu cautiously via the land route of the locals and slowly ascend to higher altitudes.
You will be constantly accompanied by a great expert of the Sherpa culture, who himself tries to preserve the traditions: Mingma Sherpa will be happy to answer all your questions about Sherpas and open some doors for you, which remain closed to “regular” tourists. You will get deep insights into Sherpa life in villages off the beaten track like Khumjung, Surke or Mende. But also in villages like Namche and Lukla you will experience the change of the Khumbu through tourism with all its positive and negative effects. You will get to know the special relationship between Sherpas and Yaks at a Yak farm. With your impact on the trip, you can help to ensure that the yak in the Khumbu will not disappear from the scene. You learn about the everyday things like the difficulties of an energy supply. And the Sherpas will show you how local agriculture and forestry is done. In short: On almost every day there is more than trekking on the program, so that you can dive deeply into the life of the Sherpas. Pictures will remain in your memory that will probably be even more impressive than your first view of Mount Everest. And that means something!

The highlights of the Fair Trails Experience at a glance:

  • Cultural sights of Hinduism and Buddhism in Kathmandu.
  • Trekking along the historic “old” trek towards Everest with its charming villages
  • Impressive contrast between non-touristy trails and famous trekking stages
  • Optional ascent of Sundar Peak with its fantastic views of the glaciated giants of the Himalayas
  • Dive into the Sherpalife in villages such as Monjo and Thame
  • Experience Sherpa lifestyle in non-touristy places
  • Deep insights into topics like agriculture, forestry and energy supply in one of the highest populated regions on earth
  • Visit a Yak farm and learn about the special relationship between Sherpas and Yaks.

+

THE FAIR TRAILS PROJECT

Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
Yaks are historically inseparable from the Sherpas and the Khumbu. In order to ensure that yak caravans will continue to be a welcome sight in the Khumbu in the future, Mingma Sherpa has dedicated itself to the protection of the yaks. © Anuj Adhikary
Just like cows for the Alps and horses for Mongolia, yaks are a symbol for the Khumbu region. Who does not know pictures of these shaggy animals in the middle of a rough high mountain world? Yaks have long served as the livelihood of the Sherpas and can perform many tasks: They served (before the closure of the border with Tibet) as transport animals for trade, were used as pack animals in large expeditions and are used as riding animals. Yak milk and the products derived from it, as well as yak meat, have long been the food source of the Sherpas. Yak fur can be spun into yarn for clothing and the leather was also processed. Last but not least, yak dung served as an important fuel in a partially tree-free region.
Nowadays, however, helicopters and porters from other regions of Nepal have taken over many of the yak’s transportation functions. At the same time, more and more other livestock species are entering the Khumbu and displacing the yak – last but not least, more and more Sherpas are pursuing activities outside agriculture. This leads to the fact that the yak disappears more and more from the landscape and the culture of the Khumbu.

For this reason, Mingma Sherpa – your Fair Trails Expert at the Khumbu Heritage Trail – has started a Yak Farm. With the aim to re-establish the Yaks in the Khumbu region. For you, this means a good opportunity to have a close encounter with the yak and to better understand the ancient relationship between Sherpa and the Yak.
Your impact on the project: Part of the proceeds from your participation in the Khumbu Heritage Trail will go towards the maintenance of the yak farm and the ambitious attempt not to let ancient traditions be forgotten.
+
Chörten and mani walls on the way between Phakding and Lukla: The whole Khmubu is decorated with Buddhist shrines. © Trail Angels
Tradition and change in a very confined space: Sherpa society has also changed in recent years and, like all societies, will continue to change in the future. © Anuj Adhikary
One never forgets the first view of the 8.848 m high Mount Everest! Here from the vantage point above Namche Bazar (in the picture at the very back left of the center of the picture; the prominent peak to the right of the center of the picture is the 6.814 m high Ama Dablam; © Trail Angels
The view of the glacier giants of the Khumbu from Sundar Peak, the 4.800m highest point of the trek, is breathtaking © Mingma Sherpa
Small-scale agriculture on a self-sufficient basis still characterizes the image of the Khumbu. The farmers are supported by animals. © Mingma Sherpa
If you also laugh like this together with the locals we have reached our goal! © Anuj Adhikary
The combination of wonderful cultural assets with breath-taking scenery creates fantastic motifs on the Khumbu Heritage Trail. © Jay San Photography
Yaks were once used as transport animals for the great expeditions as well as for trade with Tibet. © Anuj Adhikary
Khumjung is one of the typical Sherpa villages off the beaten track, which we visit to get to know the life of the Sherpas better – in this case you also spend the night in this place. In the background the omnipresent Ama Dablam. © Trail Angels
A smile as a gift: the exchange with the Sherpas is one of the central points of this trip and will remain in your memory forever. © Trail Angels

03 — THE OFFER

The Fair Trails® Experiences

03

Khumbu Heritage/Buddhism Trail:
Media Explorer Tour

Guided trekking tour

Start date: 03 November 2021
Duration: 17 days
Price: € 2.318,- p.P.

KHUMBU HERITAGE TRAIL:
The main route

Fair Trails Experience®
Guided trekking tour

Start date:
Duration:
Price: from € 2.550,- p.p. in shared rooms

KHUMBU HERITAGE TRAIL:
Variation I

Fair Trails Experience®
Guided trekking tour

Start date:
Duration:
Price: will be announced soon

KHUMBU HERITAGE TRAIL:
Variation II

Fair Trails Experience®
Guided trekking tour

Start date:
Duration:
Price: will be announced soon

Fair Trails® Newsletter

Want to be kept up to date on our Fair Trails® trips?

Khumbu Heritage Trail

Das Leben der nepalesischen Sherpas verstehen

Khumbu – das Dach der Welt. Heimat der höchsten Berge unseres schönen Planeten und Heimat des wohl berühmtesten Bergvolkes der Welt: der Sherpa. Vor allem der 8.848 m hohe Mount Everest hat diese ehemals extrem entlegene Bergregion zu einem der begehrtesten Sehnsuchtsziele für Wanderer und Bergsteiger gemacht.
Und das sicher zu Recht: Es wird kaum einen Reisenden geben, dem beim ersten Anblick des Mount Everest und all der anderen Sechs-, Sieben- und Achttausender nicht der Mund offengeblieben ist. Dazu kommt ein kulturelles Erbe, das Dich auf der ganzen Reise begleiten und faszinieren wird: der Buddhismus prägt das Leben der Sherpa und ist an fast jeder Ecke sichtbar. Man denke nur an die allerorts aufgehängten buddhistischen Fahnen, die Gompas mit ihren Mönchen und die Chörten in jedem Ort. Zusammen mit der Gastfreundschaft des Sherpavolkes ergibt sich ein fast unwiderstehliches Gesamtpaket für weltoffene Outdoorenthusiasten.
Beim „Khumbu Heritage Trail“ ist nicht nur die Landschaft, sondern vor allem das Leben der Sherpas zentrales Thema. Du bist mit ihnen unterwegs und nimmst an Alltag und Kultur hautnah teil. Diskutierst mit ihnen, wie sie Landwirtschaft betreiben oder was das Yak für einen Stellenwert hat in einer der höchsten bewohnten Regionen der Erde. Bist abseits ausgetretener Pfade unterwegs und zu Gast bei Sherpafamilien – und immer begleitet von Mingma Sherpa, unserem weit gereisten Fair Trails Experten aus Namche Bazar. Wenn Du mit dem Gefühl zurückreist, dass die Region so viel mehr zu bieten hat als „nur“ den Mount Everest, dann haben wir unser Ziel erreicht!

01 — DER MYTHOS

Das berühmteste Bergvolk
der Welt

01

Die Landschaft prägt das Leben: Die Sherpas aus der Khumburegion am Fuße des Mount Everest sind wahrscheinlich das berühmteste Bergvolk der Welt und leben in einer der höchstgelegenen Gegenden der Erde. © Anuj Adhikary

Die Sherpas sind sicher das berühmteste Bergvolk der Welt. Bilder von Sherpas, die Kunden auf einen der lebensfeindlichsten Punkte der Welt, den Gipfel des Mount Everest, führen, gingen um die Welt. Und den Spruch „ich bin nicht Dein Sherpa“ hat wohl jeder schon einmal gehört. Ein Zeichen, wie bekannt die Sherpas sind – aber auch ein Zeichen, wie wenig wir über das Volk wissen. Das Wort „Sherpa“ bedeutet weder „nepalesischer Bergsteiger“ noch „Träger“; sondern ist – wie schon erwähnt eines der vielen nepalesischen Völker. Das Volk, das in der Khumburegion in einer der höchsten besiedelten Regionen der Erde rund um Mount Everest, Lhotse und Cho Oyu lebt.
Die Region war bis zum Start des touristischen Interesses extrem abgelegen. Die Sherpas hatten sich – so wie jedes Bergvolk – perfekt an die Entlegenheit sowie die rauen und kargen örtlichen Gegebenheiten angepasst. Sie waren Bauern und lebten vom Handel über die Pässe des Himalayas. Das Leben war stark vom Buddhismus geprägt, wovon die vielen Gompas und Chörten zeugen.
Dieses Leben ist auch heute noch sichtbar. Aber natürlich hat der Tourismus und die bessere Erreichbarkeit vor allem durch den abenteuerlichen Flughafen in Lukla das Leben der Sherpas verändert. In Orten entlang der berühmten Trekkingrouten stärker und in abseits gelegenen Dörfern weitaus weniger stark. Entlang der bekannten Trekkingrouten arbeiten viele Sherpas als Guide oder in Lodges, andere gehen ihrem bäuerlichen Leben nach. Viele Sherpas verbringen auch eine Zeit ihres Lebens im Ausland – so sind außerhalb vom Khumbu die zweitmeisten Sherpas in New York anzutreffen.

So haben die Sherpas gelernt, den Spagat zwischen Tradition und Veränderung zu meistern. Auf dem Khumbu Heritage Trail kannst Du unter Begleitung Deines Fair Trails Experten Mingma Sherpa einen tiefen Einblick in das Leben der Sherpas zwischen Tradition und Moderne – abseits und auch mitten auf den berühmten Trekkingpfaden – gewinnen. Und – wir wetten darauf – so beeindruckt sein, dass Du einen Teil vom Khumbu in Deinem Herzen mit nach Hause nimmst.
+

Yak Karawanen entlang des historischen Trails von Paiya Richtung Everest: Früher waren Expeditionen ohne dieses wichtige Transportmittel undenkbar. © Trail Angels

Spektakuläre Hängebrücken sind eines der bekanntesten Symbole der Khumburegion und erfordern ein gewisses Maß an Schwindelfreiheit. Sie sind aber nicht nur im wahrsten Sinn des Wortes atemberaubend, sondern auch ganz wichtige Verbindungslinien über tiefe Schluchten. © Trail Angels
Der Transport von Brennholz ist vor allem in den höher gelegenen Dörfern sehr beschwerlich, da mit Zunahme der Höhe der Baumbestand immer weniger wird. Aus diesem Grund wird oft auch getrockneter Yak Kot als Brennmaterial verwendet. © Anuj Adhikary
Zwei Symbole des Khumbu auf einem Bild: der Gipfel der 6.814 m hohen Ama Dablam, einer der schönsten Berge der Welt, und davor ein Yak. © Anuj Adhikary
Bhote Koshi, ein typisches ursprüngliches Sherpadorf mit seiner kleinteiligen landwirtschaftlichen Struktur. © Trail Angels
Die Begegnung mit den Menschen – von jung bis alt – ist das eigentliche Highlight der Reise. Da rücken sogar die imposanten Gletschergiganten in den Hintergrund. © Trail Angels
Namche Bazar mit dem schroffen ?????? im Hintergrund ist das quirlige Zentrum des Khumbu. © Trail Angels
Eine Stupa vor der imposanten Ama Dablam – buddhistische Symbole wie dieses findet man überall im Khumbu und sind Zeichen eines tief verwurzelten und gelebten Buddhismus. © Jay San Photography

02 — DIE EXPERIENCE

Eintauchen in das Leben
der Sherpas

02

Yaks dienen nicht nur als Transporttiere, sondern auch als eine der Nahrungsgrundlagen der Sherpas: Sie geben Milch, ihr Fleisch wird gegessen und Haut und Fell werden zu Kleidungsstücken verarbeitet. Selbst als Reittiere werden sie benutzt. © Trail Angels
DIE ROUTE
Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
Der Khumbu Heritage Trail führt Dich zunächst auf der historischen Landroute der ersten Expeditionen bis nach Namche Bazar und folgt dann einer Runde über typische Sherpadörfer zurück nach Lukla. © Trail Angels/Raj Gyawali
Der Khumbu Heritage Trail durch die Khumburegion im Herzen des Himalayas beginnt so wie alle Reisen nach Nepal in Kathmandu. Hier hast Du zu Beginn der Reise Zeit, die beiden das Leben in Nepal bestimmenden Philosophien Hinduismus und Buddhismus kennenzulernen und auch schon die ersten Kontakte mit dem Volk der Sherpa zu knüpfen.
Du näherst Dich dem Khumbu allerdings nicht wie die meisten Touristen per Flug nach Lukla an, sondern fährst wie die Einheimischen mit Geländewagen eine atemberaubende Strecke nach Phaplu und weiter nach Paiya, wo Dein Trekking beginnt. Nun folgst Du dem historischen Trail Richtung Everest, der vor Bau des Flughafens von all den Everest-Pionieren begangen wurde. Dieser Teil des Treks über Surke und Chaurikarka ist sehr ruhig und zeichnet ein ursprüngliches Bild der Khumburegion und der Sherpa, bevor Du zwischen Lukla und Phakding auf den populären Haupttrek Richtung Mount Everest triffst. Es ist wie ein Zivilisationsschock nach der ruhigen Zeit, aber auch das gehört unzertrennlich zum heutigen Khumbu.

Die Landschaft wird immer spektakulärer: wilde Schluchten werden durchschritten, Hängebrücken überquert und mehr vergletscherte Giganten säumen Deinen Weg. So geht es weiter über Monjo zu den berühmten Sherpadörfern Namche und Thame. Von Thame aus kannst Du mit dem ca. 4.800 m hohen Sundar Peak den höchsten Punkt des Treks und einen fantastischen Aussichtspunkt erklimmen, bevor Du über Pfade, die nur von Einheimischen benutzt werden, die beiden Dörfer Mende und Khumjung abseits der Touristenströme erreichst.
Nun geht es abwärts zurück nach Namche und über Monjo nach Lukla. Hier heißt es wehmütig Abschied nehmen vom Khumbu und den Sherpas: Vom abenteuerlichen Flughafen in Lukla geht es per Flugzeug zurück nach Kathmandu. Hier bleibt Dir noch Zeit, diese atemberaubende Stadt zu genießen, bevor es zurück in die Heimat geht.
+

DER FAIR TRAILS EXPERTE

Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
Mingma Sherpa ist unser kompetenter Fair Trails Experte für den Khumbu Heritage Trail. Er hat an der Idee des Trails selbst mitgearbeitet und kann durch sein starkes Engagement im Khumbu sehr viel Interessantes erzählen. © Mingma Sherpa
Mingma Sherpa wurde in Namche geboren, mitten im Herzen der Everest-Region, und kam in sehr jungen Jahren für seine Schulausbildung nach Kathmandu. Nach Abschluss reiste er in die USA, um weiter zu studieren und begann schließlich sogar für die UNO in Nepal und im Ausland zu arbeiten. Die Anziehungskraft seines Heimatdorfes hat ihn nun zurückgebracht und er übernahm die Leitung der familieneigenen Panorama Lodge, die seit ihrer Gründung vor mehreren Jahrzehnten bei Bergsteigern bekannt ist. Heute ist er Vorstandsmitglied des Namche Youth Club und ein aktiver Verfechter der Wiederbelebung der Sherpa-Kultur mit ihren bescheidenen Wurzeln. Er ist einer der vielen jungen Sherpas, die mit einem neu entfachten Eifer und einer Leidenschaft zurück nach Nepal gekommen sind, das Sherpa-Image über das reine Bergsteigen hinaus, für das sie weltweit bekannt sind, zu stärken.
DAS PROGRAMM UND SEINE HÖHEPUNKTE
Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
Der Khumbu bietet neben einem intensiven kulturellen Austausch mit den Sherpas auch spektakuläre Wege in einer atemberaubenden Gebirgslandschaft. © Anuj Adhikary
Der Khumbu Heritage Trail hat sich eine große Aufgabe gestellt. Er gibt sich nicht nur zufrieden mit der zweifelsohne atemberaubenden Landschaft des Khumbu mit seinen vergletscherten Sechs-, Sieben- und Achtausendern und den vielen wunderbaren Zeugen eines gelebten Buddhismus wie Chörten und Gompas. Er will viel mehr zeigen: nämlich tiefe Einblicke in das Leben des vielleicht berühmtesten Bergvolkes der Welt – der Sherpas – geben. Dafür näherst Du Dich behutsam über die Landroute der Einheimischen dem Khumbu an und steigst so langsam in größere Höhen auf.
Dabei wirst Du stetig begleitet von einem großen Experten der Sherpa Kultur, der sich selbst um Erhaltung der Traditionen bemüht: Mingma Sherpa wird sich freuen, alle Deine Fragen zu Sherpas zu beantworten und Dir dabei einige Türen öffnen, die „normalen“ Touristen verschlossen bleiben. Dabei bekommst Du in Dörfern abseits der Touristenströme wie Khumjung, Surke oder Mende tiefe Einblicke in das Sherpaleben. Erlebst aber auch in Dörfern wie Namche und Lukla die Veränderung des Khumbu durch den Tourismus mit all seinen positiven und negativen Effekten. Du lernst bei einer Yak Farm die spezielle Beziehung zwischen Sherpas und Yaks kenne. Und kannst mit Deinem Impact im Rahmen der Reise mitwirken, dass das Yak im Khumbu nicht von der Bildfläche verschwindet. Du lernst über die alltäglichen Dinge wie die Schwierigkeiten einer Energieversorgung. Und die Sherpas zeigen Dir, wie Land- und Forstwirtschaft betrieben wird. Kurzum: An fast jedem Tag ist mehr als Trekking am Programm, so dass Du tief eintauchen kannst in das Leben der Sherpas. Dass Dir Bilder in Erinnerung bleiben, die für Dich wahrscheinlich noch eindrücklicher sind als Dein erster Blick auf den Mount Everest. Und das will was heißen!

Die Höhepunkte der Fair Trails Experience im Überblick:

  • Kulturelle Sehenswürdigkeiten des Hinduismus und Buddhismus in Kathmandu
  • Trekken am historischen „alten“ Trek Richtung Everest mit seinen reizenden Dörfern
  • Reizvoller Gegensatz zwischen nichttouristischen Pfaden und berühmten Trekkingetappen
  • Optionale Besteigung des Sundar Peaks mit seiner fantastischen Aussicht auf die vergletscherten Giganten des Himalayas
  • Eintauchen in das Sherpaleben in Dörfern wie Monjo und Thame
  • Sherpa Lifestyle an nichttouristischen Plätzen kennenlernen
  • Tiefe Einblicke in Themen wie Landwirtschaft, Waldwirtschaft und
  • Energieversorgung in einer der höchstgelegenen besiedelten Regionen der Erde
  • Besuch einer Yak Farm und Kennenlernen der Beziehung zwischen Sherpas und Yak

+

DAS FAIR TRAILS PROJEKT

Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
Yaks sind historisch gesehen unzertrennbar mit den Sherpas und dem Khumbu verbunden. Damit auch in Zukunft Yak Karawanen zum gern gesehenen Bild im Khumbu gehören hat sich Mingma Sherpa der Erhaltung der Yaks verschrieben. © Anuj Adhikary
So wie Kühe für die Alpen und Pferde für die Mongolei gelten Yaks als Symbol für die Khumburegion. Wer kennt nicht Bilder von diesen zotteligen Tieren mitten in einer rauen Hochgebirgswelt? Yaks dienten lange Zeit als Lebensgrundlage für die Sherpas und können vielerei Aufgaben übernehmen: Sie dienten (vor Schließung der Grenze zu Tibet) als Transporttier für den Handel, wurden als Tragetiere bei großen Expeditionen eingesetzt und werden als Reittiere benutzt. Yakmilch und die daraus gewonnenen Produkte sowie Yakfleisch waren lange Zeit Nahrungsgrundlage der Sherpas. Yakfell kann zu Garn für Kleidung versponnen werden und auch das Leder wurde verarbeitet. Zu guter Letzt diente Yak Kot als wichtiges Brennmaterial in einer teilweise baumfreien Region.

Heutzutage haben jedoch Helikopter und Träger aus anderen Regionen Nepals viele Transportfunktionen der Yaks übernommen. Zugleich erhalten immer mehr andere Nutztierarten Einzug in den Khumbu und verdrängen das Yak – zu guter Letzt gehen immer mehr Sherpas einer Tätigkeit außerhalb der Landwirtschaft nach. Dies führt dazu, dass das Yak immer stärker aus dem Landschaftsbild und der Kultur des Khumbu verschwindet. [expand] Aus diesem Grund hat Mingma Sherpa – Dein Fair Trails Experte am Khumbu Heritage Trail – eine Yak Farm ins Leben gerufen. Mit dem Ziel, die Yaks wieder stärker in der Khumburegion zu etablieren. Für Dich bedeutet das eine gute Gelegenheit, mit dem Yak auf Tuchfühlung zu gehen und die uralte Beziehung zwischen Sherpa und Yak besser zu verstehen.
Dein Impact an dem Projekt: Ein Teil des Erlöses aus Deiner Teilnahme am Khumbu Heritage Trail fließt in die Erhaltung der Yak Farm und den ambitionierten Versuch, uralte Traditionen nicht vergessen werden zu lassen.
+
Chörten und Manimauern am Weg zwischen Phakding und Lukla: Der gesamte Khmubu ist geschmückt mit buddhistischen Heiligtümern. © Trail Angels
Tradition und Veränderung auf engstem Raum: Auch die Gesellschaft der Sherpa hat sich in den letzten Jahren verändert und wird sich so wie alle Gesellschaften auch in Zukunft weiterverändern. © Anuj Adhikary
Den ersten Blick auf den 8.8848 m hohen Mount Everest vergisst man nie! Hier vom Aussichtspunkt oberhalb von Namche Bazar (im Bild ganz hinten links der Bildmitte; der markante Gipfel rechts der Bildmitte ist die 6.814 m hohe Ama Dablam; © Trail Angels
Der Blick vom Sundar Peak, dem 4.800 m hohen höchsten Punkt des Trekkings, auf die Gletschergiganten des Khumbu ist atemberaubend © Mingma Sherpa
Kleinteilige Landwirtschaft auf Selbstversorgerbasis prägt nach wie vor das Bild des Khumbu. Unterstützung bekommen die Bauern von Tieren. © Mingma Sherpa
Wenn Du gemeinsam mit den Einheimischen auch so lachst haben wir unser Ziel erreicht! © Anuj Adhikary
Die Kombination von wunderbaren Kulturgütern mit einer atembraubenden Landschaft schafft fantastische Motive am Khumbu Heritage Trail. © Jay San Photography
Yaks wurden früher als Transporttiere für die großen Expeditionen wie auch für den Handel mit Tibet verwendet. © Anuj Adhikary
Khumjung ist eines der typischen Sherpadörfer abseits des Touristenstromes, die wir besuchen, um das Leben der Sherpas besser kennenzulernen – in diesem Fall übernachtest Du auch in diesem Ort. Im Hintergrund die omnipräsente Ama Dablam. © Trail Angels
Ein Lächeln als Geschenk: der Austausch mit den Sherpas ist eines der zentralen Punkte dieser Reise und wird Dir für immer im Gedächtnis bleiben. © Trail Angels

03 — DAS ANGEBOT

Die Fair Trails® Experiences

03

Khumbu Heritage/Buddhism Trail:
Media Explorer Tour

Geführte Trekkingreise mit Mediaproduktion

Startdatum: 03. November 2021
Dauer: 17 Tage
Preis: € 2.318,- p.P.

KHUMBU HERITAGE TRAIL:
Die Hauptroute

Fair Trails Experience®
Geführte Trekkingreise

Startdatum:
Dauer:
Preis: ab € 2.550,- p.P. im Mehrbettzimmer

KHUMBU HERITAGE TRAIL:
Variation I

Fair Trails Experience®
Geführte Trekkingreise

Startdatum: 
Dauer: 
Preis: wird demnächst bekanntgegeben

KHUMBU HERITAGE TRAIL:
Variation II

Fair Trails Experience®
Geführte Trekkingreise

Startdatum: 
Dauer: 
Preis: wird demnächst bekanntgegeben

Fair Trails® Newsletter

Möchtest du über unsere Fair Trails® Reisen am Laufenden gehalten werden?