Snow Leopard Trail

On the tracks
of the Snow Leopard

The spectacular Himalayan region of Nar Phu lies far off the beaten track on the border between Nepal and Tibet. This remote area, wedged between the eight-thousand-meter peaks of Annapurna and Manaslu, is considered one of the last intact habitats of the mystical Snow Leopard. That is why we have designed the Snow Leopard Trail here, following old trade routes. For itself a unique and spectacular trekking route, which becomes a lifetime adventure with our Fair Trails® Experiences!
Dive deep into the world of this mysterious beauty of creation with our Snow Leopard experts. You will gain a fascinating insight into the efforts to protect the Snow Leopard in its habitat and even become an active participant in the conservation project of the renowned Snow Leopard Conservancy. A journey that changes and impacts!

01 — THE MYTH

The ghost
of the mountains.

01

What a beauty! About 300 Snow Leopards have their habitat in the Nepalese Himalayas. The Snow Leopard Trail project is dedicated to their protection. © Snow Leopard Conservancy

Beauty, strength and a hidden way of life have established the legendary aura of the Snow Leopard among the people of the Himalayas. A myth, which became famous in the so-called “western” countries by a book in the first place: In his world bestseller “The Snow Leopard,” American author Peter Matthiessen describes a zoological expedition through unknown western Nepal, with the goal of observing the Snow Leopard in the wild for the first time. He accompanies the famous zoologist George Schaller on the ultimately unsuccessful trek, with the Snow Leopard turning out to be a master of camouflage, merging with the landscape. Ghostly, elegant and always one step ahead. What Matthiessen does find, however, are the limits of his own ego. For this expedition to the highlands on the Tibetan border becomes for him a “pilgrimage of the heart,” in which he enters a world where dramatic forces of nature and the mysticism of Tibetan monks combine to create a reality in which the everyday left behind becomes unreal and the unreal becomes familiar.
A review (we really highly recommend the book, especially for those who want to embark on this great adventure) that reflects the spirit of this journey so unique. A book that will make you dive deep into the world of the Snow Leopard, without depriving him of his myth. While four out of five big cat species (tiger, lion, leopard and jaguar) find their constantly shrinking habitat in forests and savannahs, that of the Snow Leopard (Panthera uncia) spreads over a vast area of all the high mountains of Central Asia. From the vast steppes of Mongolia to subtropical Bhutan. And in the midst of these seemingly endless expanses of rugged mountain ranges and plateaus, there are only 4.000 – 6.000 individuals of this fascinating big cat. No wonder why the Snow Leopard can be observed so rarely in the wild. And unfortunately this is also one of the reasons why its population is acutely endangered in this sparse habitat. In turn, this is a commission for all of us to do everything in our power, ensuring that not another magnificent creature on our planet is irretrievably lost.
The Snow Leopard. A symbol of the mystique of the wilderness. Noticeable but usually not visible. A trek in the footsteps of the Snow Leopard – “in the presence of the miraculous” – provides a profound and almost spiritual access to the wilderness. And thus serves the search of yourself and your own origins.
+

Mysterious and unapproachable like its inhabitant, the Snow Leopard: the remote Himalayan region of Nar Phu north of the mighty Annapurna Himal. ©Tashi R. Ghale

A proud Snow Leopard mother with two cubs. Captured by our Snow Leopard expert Tashi R. Ghale. This moment changed his life! He has since dedicated it to this magnificent creature and its conservation. ©Tashi R. Ghale

Enjoying the evening sun and are still always alert: The imposing blue sheep. Because where there are blue sheep, the Snow Leopard is usually not far away! ©Tashi R. Ghale

The ghost of the mountains! This impressive paw print was taken by our Trail Scout Josef Essl. Knowing himself in the presence of the miraculous has given him goose bumps…. ©Trail Angels/Essl

02 — THE EXPERIENCE

A discovery trip
in the realm of the miraculous

02

In a land before our time: the monastery of the proud fortress village of Phu. The explorations along the Snow Leopard Trail will give you profound insights into the world of the Snow Leopard and the so fascinating landscape he shares with the people © Trail Angels/Essl

THE ROUTE AND ITS VARIATIONS

Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau

The Snow Leopard Trail leads through the mountainous regions of Nar Phu and Manang, wedged between the eight-thousand-meter peaks of Annapurna and Manaslu and situated on the border with Tibet. ©Trail Angels

DThe Snow Leopard Trail follows the tracks of the Snow Leopard through one of its preferred habitats in a remote mountainous region in northwestern Nepal. Its starting point at the famous Annapurna Circuit is reached by off-road vehicle in a breathtakingly spectacular drive. This takes you out of the subtropical hills of Nepal through the imposing and deeply cut Marsyangdi Gorge right into the glacier world of the Annapurna Himal. At Koto the trekking starts, which leads on old, often artfully arranged trade paths to the north, into the heart of the fascinating original region of Nar Phu. This barren high mountain landscape on the border with Tibet has an almost hypnotic effect on the trekker and forms one of the great retreats of the snow leopard. In a big loop, the trail then turns south again, crossing the 5.320m high Kang La, to then seek out more special snow leopard hotspots around Manang. The return trip to Kathmandu will be by off-road vehicle from Manang.

The original route of the Snow Leopard Trail just described can definitely be described as a challenging trek. For those who don’t dare or don’t want to cross the 5.320m high Kang La, we offer a less demanding and shorter variant, which follows the Annapurna Circuit on less trodden paths and then heads for the above mentioned Snow Leopard hotspots. This easier, but no less spectacular wildlife trekking in the shadow of the Annapurna glacier giants can be found in the Fair Trail Experiences “Snow Leopard Trail Annapurna” and “Snow Leopard Trail – Himalayan Catwalk” (see under Offers).

+

THE FAIR TRAILS® EXPERTS

Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
Our Fair Trails experts at the Snow Leopard Trail: Tashi R. Ghale (left) and Rinzin Lama (right) of the Third Pole Conservancy ©Trail Angels

The Snow Leopard Trail was developed with the support of the renowned Snow Leopard Conservancy and its legendary chairman, Dr. Rodney Jackson. In their projects and conservation efforts, the world’s leading snow leopard experts from California work in the field with wildlife biologists and nature photographers from Nepal. Probably the best known of these is Tashi R. Ghale from Manang. There will probably be no one in the entire Himalayas who has observed the Snow Leopard more often in the wild than Tashi. No wonder that Tashi has often been the focus of award-winning nature documentaries by National Geographic or Disney. Tashi has founded his own NGO, the Third Pole Conservancy, with which he, or one of his equally competent colleagues such as zoologist Rhinzin Lama, will accompany our Fair Trails Experiences. Because only with the accompaniment of our outstanding Fair Trails experts, the legendary universe of the Snow Leopard will be revealed to you. To let you actively participate in the conservation project of the Snow Leopard. Therefore, the Fair Trails Experts are our cornerstones that make the Fair Trails Experiences a unique life and travel experience!

THE PROGRAM AND ITS HIGHLIGHTS
Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
Fair Trails expert Tashi R. Ghale in front of one of the camera traps at the Snow Leopard Trail ©Trail Angels/Essl
Wildlife trekking on the Snow Leopard Trail is spectacular on any of the above mentioned variations. Whether the archaic mountain landscape of Nar Phu with its Tibetan-influenced villages, where time seems to stand still. Or Manang, situated in the shadow of the thousands of meters high towering north walls of the Annapurna Himal. Or the breathtaking panorama from the Kang La over summit seas of uncounted ice-armored Himalayan peaks. But beyond that a Fair Trails Experience becomes only something completely special, by the program highlights, which are offered by the accompaniment of the Fair Trails experts. For example, Tashi R. Ghale leads us to very special observation sites of the Snow Leopard. Like particularly often frequented marking points at territorial borders. Or to the camera traps of the monitoring project, where the new image material is immediately read out. It is always a very special moment to see if and when a Snow Leopard fell into the photo trap most recently. With every day of trekking you will sharpen your senses and become a skilled observer and tracker like Tashi. With a bit of luck you will also get to see many other fascinating species such as the blue sheep, the bearded vulture or jackals or wolves. You will also visit different project villages with our experts and discuss with farmers and Yak herders about their experiences with the snow leopard. And as a special emotional highlight in the selected village you will hand over Fox-Lights, which are financed from the travel revenue. In this way you become an active participant in this so important species conservation project.

The program highlights of the Fair Trails Experience at a glance:

  • Arrival through the imposing Marsyangdi Gorge
  • Wildlife Trekking through Nar Phu and around Manang
  • The Tibetan influenced highlands of Nar Phu
  • The glacier world of Annapurna Himal
  • The panorama from 5.320m high Kang La
  • Wildlife Watching with Fair Trails Expert Tashi R. Ghale
  • The read-out of camera traps
  • Visit of project villages and the partner school in Manang
  • Handing over lift traps to mountain farmers and yak herders

THE FAIR TRAILS® PROJECT

Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
The Snow Leopard is not really afraid of this scarecrow. In the small mountain village of Julu, the Snow Leopard has already invaded several times. Here Fox-Lights are urgently needed for herd protection! @Trail Angels

Another indisputable cornerstone of the Fair Trails® Experiences, is to support very specific projects that have to do with the central story of each Fair Trail. The experts at the Snow Leopard Conservancy chose this project for us: The key to successful species conservation is peaceful coexistence between mountain dwellers and the Snow Leopard. Therefore it is important to keep the big cats away from the herds and villages. This is the only way to protect the important livelihood of farmers and herders, their herds of sheep, goats and yaks, from attacks. And to guide the Snow Leopard towards its natural prey, the Blue Sheep. Light traps, known as fox lights, have proven particularly effective in this regard. They are equipped with a motion detector and scare the stalking leopard with light signals.

Currently, an average of €100 per traveler goes to the Snow Leopard Conservancy, which is responsible for the purchase and fair distribution practice of the light traps. After all, an efficient and unbureaucratic contribution to the protection of the Snow Leopard is important to us.

Even the arrival to the Snow Leopard Trail is an adventure in itself! A dirt road winding from the subtropical hills of Nepal through the imposing Marsyangdi Gorge up into the glacier world of the Annapurna Himal ©Trail Angels

Nobody knows the Snow Leopard in the Himalayas as well as Tashi R. Ghale. The well-known nature photographer from Manang and his colleagues from the Third Pole Conservancy accompany the Fair Trails Experiences on the Snow Leopard Trail as experts. The guarantee for profound insights into the world of the Snow Leopard ©Trail Angels

A unique journey of discovery: Following the old, artfully laid out trade trails, the Snow Leopard Trail takes you into the realm of the Snow Leopard: The remote mountain regions of Nar Phu and Manang. @Trail Angels/Essl

Challenging: The Snow Leopard Trail can be hiked in several variations. The most challenging experience is the original route, which leads over the 5.320m high Kang La. Tashi R. Ghale with the Fair Trail Scouts at the pass. @Trail Angels/Essl

Always on the lookout: Fair Trails expert Tashi R. Ghale has spotted something suspicious on the steep slopes. I wonder if it’s a Snow Leopard? @Trail Angels/Essl

As part of the species conservation project, the Snow Leopard Conservancy has set up several photo traps along the Snow Leopard Trail. Reading these on site and waiting excitedly to see if a Snow Leopard has been captured is one of the unforgettable moments of this Fair Trails Experience. @Tashi R. Gale

Immerse yourself and learn to understand: Trail Angel Günter in one of the project villages on the Snow Leopard Trail. The key to understanding coexistence between locals and Snow Leopards lies in herd protection. After all, the sheep, goats and yaks form the livelihood of the mountain farmers in this little developed region. @Trail Angels

DTherefore, Fair Trails supports the purchase and distribution of light traps, so-called “Fox-Lights”, at the Snow Leopard Trail. To keep the Snow Leopards away from the herds. The handover of the Fox Lights to the project villages is one of the highlights of the Fair Trails Experiences at the Snow Leopard Trail. @Tashi R. Ghale

03 — THE OFFER

The Fair Trails® Experiences

03

Snow Leopard Trail/Local Life Trail:
Media Explorer Tour

Guided trekking tour with media production

Start date: 03 November 2021
Duration: 17 days
Price: € 2.318,- p.P.

Snow Leopard Trail:
Variation – Annapurna Route
Fair Trails Experience®
Guided trekking tour

Start date: April 2022
Duration: 14 days
Price: ab € 2.122,- p.P.

Snow Leopard Trail:
The Original – Nar Phu Route
Fair Trails Experience®
Guided trekking tour

Start date: Oktober 2022
Duration: 19 days
Price: ab € 2.621,- p.P.

Snow Leopard Trail:
Himalayan Catwalk

Fair Trails Experience®
Trekking & Safari

Start date: November 2022
Duration: 18 days
Price: will be announced soon

Fair Trails® Newsletter

Like to be kept up to date on our Fair Trails® trips?




Follow us

Snow leopard Trail

Auf der Spur
des Schnee­leo­parden

Die spektakuläre Himalayaregion Nar Phu liegt weitab ausgetretener Pfade an der Grenze von Nepal zu Tibet. Dieser weltvergessene Landstrich, eingekeilt zwischen den Achttausendern Annapurna und Manaslu gilt heute als seines der letzten intakten Habitate des mystischen Schneeleoparden. Weshalb wir hier, alten Handelspfaden folgend, den Snow Leopard Trail gestaltet haben. Für sich eine einzigartig spektakuläre Trekkingroute, die jedoch erst mit unseren Fair Trails® Experiences zu einer Erfahrung fürs ganze Leben wird!
Tauche mit unseren Schneeleopard-Experten tief in die Welt dieser so geheimnisvollen Schönheit der Schöpfung ein. Dabei eröffnet sich Dir ein faszinierender Einblick in die Bemühungen, den Schneeleoparden in seinem Lebensraum zu schützen und Du wirst dabei sogar ein aktive Mitwirkender im Artenschutzprojekt der renommierten Snow Leopard Conservancy. Eine Reise die verändert und wirkt!

01 — DER MYTHOS

Das Gespenst
der Berge.

01

Was für eine Schönheit! Ca. 300 Schneeleoparden haben im nepalesischen Himalaya ihren Lebensraum. Ihrem Schutz ist das Projekt Snow Leopard Trail gewidmet. © Snow Leopard Conservancy

Schönheit, Kraft und eine verborgene Lebensweise haben die sagenumwobene Aura des Schneeleoparden bei den Menschen im Himalaya begründet. Ein Mythos, der in den sogenannten „westlichen“ Länder erst mit einem Buch berühmt wurde: In seinem Weltbestseller „Auf den Spuren des Schneeleoparden“ beschreibt der amerikanische Schriftsteller Peter Matthiessen eine zoologische Expedition durch das unbekannte Westnepal, mit dem Ziel, den Schneeleoparden erstmals in freier Wildbahn zu beobachten. Er begleitet auf der letztendlich vergeblichen Suche den berühmten Zoologen George Schaller, denn der Schneeleopard entpuppt sich als Meister der Tarnung, des Verschmelzens mit der Landschaft. Geisterhaft, elegant und immer einen Schritt voraus. Was Matthiessen jedoch findet, sind die Grenzen des eigenen Ichs. Denn diese Expedition in das Hochland an der tibetischen Grenze wird für ihn zu einer »Pilgerschaft des Herzens«, bei der er eine Welt, in der sich dramatische Naturgewalten und die Mystik der tibetischen Mönche zu einer Realität verbinden, in welcher der zurückgelassene Alltag unwirklich und das Unwirkliche vertraut wird. Eine Rezension (das Buch können wir wirklich wärmstens empfehlen, vor allem für alle, die sich auf dieses große Abenteuer einlassen wollen), die den Geist dieser so einzigartigen Reise wiederspiegelt. Und Dich tief in die Welt des Schneeleoparden eintauchen lässt, ohne ihm seinem Mythos zu entreißen.

Denn während vier von fünf Großkatzenarten (Tiger, Löwe, Leopard und Jaguar) ihren ständig schrumpfenden Lebensraum in Wäldern und Savannen vorfinden, breitet sich jener des Schneeleoparden (Panthera uncia) über ein riesiges Gebiet sämtlicher Hochgebirge Zentralasiens aus. Von den weiten Steppen der Mongolei bis in das subtropische Bhutan. Und inmitten dieser schier unendlichen Weiten von zerklüfteter Bergketten und Hochebenen verlaufen sich gerade einmal 4.000 – 6.000 Individuen dieser so faszinierenden Großkatze. Kein Wunder also, warum der Schneeleopard so selten in freier Wildbahn beobachtet werden kann. Und leider auch mit ein Grund, warum er in diesem ausgedünnten Lebensraum in seinem Bestand akut gefährdet ist. Was wiederum für uns alle einen Auftrag darstellt, alles in unserer Macht stehende zu tun, damit nicht wieder ein grandioses Geschöpf auf unserem Planeten unwiederbringlich verloren geht.

Der Schneeleopard. Ein Sinnbild für die Mystik der Wildnis. Spürbar aber meist nicht sichtbar. So eröffnet eine Wanderung auf den Spuren des Schneeleoparden – „in der Gegenwart des Wunderbaren“ – einen tiefgründigen und geradezu spirituellen Zugang zur Wildnis. Und dient damit der Suche nach sich selbst und den eigenen Ursprüngen.

+

Geheimnisvoll und unnahbar wie sein Bewohner, der Schneeleopard: Die entlegene Himalayaregion von Nar Phu nördlich des mächtigen Annapurna Himal. ©Tashi R. Ghale

Eine stolze Schneeleoparden Mutter mit zwei Jungtieren. Aufgenommen von unserem Schneeleoparden Experten Tashi R. Ghale. Dieser Augenblick hat sein Leben verändert! Er hat es seitdem diesem großartigen Geschöpf und seinem Schutz gewidmet. ©Tashi R. Ghale

Genießen die Abendsonne und sind dennoch immer wachsam: Die imposanten Blauschafe. Denn wo Blauschafe sind, ist der Schneeleopard meist nicht weit! ©Tashi R. Ghale

Das Gespenst der Berge! Diesen beeindruckenden Tatzenabdruck hat unser Trail Scout Josef Essl aufgenommen. Sich in der Gegenwart des Wunderbaren zu wissen hat bei ihm Gänsehaut ausgelöst.. ©Trail Angels/Essl

02 — DIE EXPERIENCE

Eine Entdeckungsreise
im Reich des Wunderbaren

02

In einem Land vor unserer Zeit: Das Kloster des stolzen Festungsdorfes Phu. Die Entdeckungsreisen am Snow Leopard Trail eröffnen Dir tiefgründige Einblicke in die Welt des Schneeleoparden und der so faszinierenden Landschaft, die er mit den Menschen teilt © Trail Angels/Essl

DIE ROUTE UND IHRE VARIANTEN

Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau

Der Snow Leopard Trail führt durch die Gebirgsregionen von Nar Phu und Manang , eingekeilt zwischen den Achttausendern Annapurna und Manaslu und an der Grenze zu Tibet gelegen.  ©Trail Angels

Der Snow Leopard Trail folgt den Spuren des Schneeleoparden durch eines seiner bevorzugten Habitate in einer entlegenen Gebirgsregion im Nordwesten Nepals. Sein Ausgangspunkt am berühmten Annapurna Circuit wird mittels Geländewagen in einer atemberaubend spektakulären Fahrt erreicht. Diese führt Dich aus den subtropischen Hügeln Nepals durch die imposante und tief eingeschnittene Marsyangdi Schlucht mitten hinein in die Gletscherwelt des Annapurna Himal. Bei Koto startet dann das Trekking, welches auf alten, oft kunstvoll angelegten handelspfaden nach Norden, in das Herz der faszinierend ursprünglichen Region von Nar Phu führt. Diese karge Hochgebirgslandschaft an der Grenze zu Tibet übt auf den Wanderer eine geradezu hypnotische Wirkung aus und bildet einen der großen Rückzugsräume des Schneeleoparden. In einer großen Schleife wendet sich der Trail dann wieder gen Süden, überquert den 5.320m hohen Kang La, um dann rund um Manang noch weitere besondere Schneeleoparden Hotspots aufzusuchen. Die Rückfahrt nach Kathmandu erfolgt dann wieder per Geländewagen ab Manang.

Die eben beschriebene Originalroute des Snow Leopard Trails kann durchaus als ein herausforderndes Trekking bezeichnet werden. Für all jene, die sich insbesondere die Überquerung des 5.320m hohen Kang La nicht zutrauen bzw. ersparen möchten, bieten wir eine weniger anspruchsvolle und kürzere Variante an, die anfangs auf wenig ausgetretenen Pfaden parallel dem Annapurna Circuit folgt und dann die oben erwähnten Schneeleoparden Hotspots ansteuert. Dieses leichtere, aber nicht minder spektakuläre Wildlife-Trekking im Schatten der Annapurna Gletschergiganten findet Du in den Fair Trail Experiences „Snow Leopard Trail Annapurna“ und „Snow Leopard Trail – Himalayan Catwalk“ wieder (siehe unter Angebote).

+

DIE FAIR TRAILS® EXPERTEN

Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
Unsere Fair Trails Experten am Snow Leopard Trail: Tashi R. Ghale (links) und Rinzin Lama (rechts) von der Third Pole Conservancy ©Trail Angels

Der Snow Leopard Trail wurde mit Unterstützung der renommierten Snow Leopard Conservancy und ihrem legendären Vorsitzenden, Dr. Rodney Jackson, entwickelt. Bei ihren Projekten und Schutzbemühungen arbeiten die weltweit führenden Schneeleopard-ExpertInnen aus Kalifornien vor Ort mit Wildbiologen und Naturfotographen aus Nepal zusammen. Der wohl bekannteste unter ihnen ist Tashi R. Ghale aus Manang. Es wird wohl im ganzen Himalaya niemanden geben, der den Schneeleoparden öfter in freier Wildbahn beobachtet hat, als Tashi. Kein Wunder also, dass Tashi schon oft im Mittelpunkt preisgekrönter Naturdokumentationen von National Geographic oder Disney war. Tashi hat eine eigene NGO, die Third Pole Conservancy gegründet, mit der er, oder einer seiner ebenfalls sehr kompetenten Kollegen wie der Zoologe Rhinzin Lama, unsere Fair Trails Experiences begleiten wird. Denn erst mit der Begleitung unserer herausragenden Fair Trails ExpertInnen wird sich Dir das sagenumwobene Universum des Schneeleoparden eröffnen. Und Dich aktiv am Artenschutzprojekt des Schneeleoparden teilhaben lassen. Daher sind die Fair Trails Experten unsere Grundpfeiler, die die Fair Trails Experiences zu einzigartigen Lebens- und Reiseerfahrung werden lassen!

DAS PROGRAMM UND SEINE HÖHEPUNKTE
Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
Fair Trails Experte Tashi R. Ghale vor einer der Kamerafallen am Snow Leopard Trail ©Trail Angels/Essl
Das Wildlife Trekking am Snow Leopard Trail ist auf jeder der oben erwähnten Varianten spektakulär. Ob die archaische Gebirgslandschaft von Nar Phu mit seinen tibetisch geprägten Dörfern, in denen die Zeit zu stehen geblieben scheint. Oder Manang, im Schatten der tausende Meter hoch aufragenden Nordwände des Annapurna Himal gelegen. Oder das atemberaubende Panorama vom Kang La über Gipfelmeer ungezählter eisgepanzerter Himalayagipfel. Doch darüber hinaus wird eine Fair Trails Experience erst zu etwas ganz Besonderem, durch die Programmhöhepunkte, die sich durch die Begleitung der Fair Trails ExpertInnen eröffnen. So führt uns Tashi R. Ghale zu ganz besonderen Beobachtungsplätzen des Schneeleoparden. Wie besonders oft frequentierte Markierungsstellen an Reviergrenzen. Oder zu den Kamerafallen des Monitoring-Projektes, wo das neue Bildmaterial sogleich ausgelesen wird. Denn es ist immer ein ganz besonderer Moment zu sehen, ob und wann zum letzten Mal ein Schneeleopard in die Fotofalle getappt ist. Mit jedem Tag Trekking wirst Du Deine Sinne mehr schärfen und wie Tashi ein geübter Beobachter und Fährtenleser werden. Dabei wirst Du mit etwas Glück auch viele andere faszinierende Tierarten, wie das Blauschaf, den Bartgeier oder Schakale oder Wölfe zu Gesicht bekommen. Du wirst mit unseren Experten auch verschiedene Projektdörfer besuchen und mit Bauern und Yakhirten über ihre Erfahrungen mit dem Schneeleoparden diskutieren. Und als besonderen emotionalen Höhepunkt im ausgewählten Dorf Fox-Lights, die aus dem Reiseumsatz finanziert werden, überreichen. So wirst Du ein aktiver Mitwirkender in diesem so wichtigen Artenschutzprojekt.

Die Progamm Höhepunkte der Fair Trails Experience im Überblick:

  • Anreise durch die imposante Marsyangdi Schlucht
  • Wildlife Trekking durch Nar Phu und rund um Manang
  • Das tibetisch geprägte Hochland von Nar Phu
  • Die Gletscherwelt des Annapurna Himal
  • Das Panorama von 5.320m hohen Kang La
  • Wildtierbeobachtung mit Fair Trails Experten Tashi R. Ghale
  • Auslesen von Kamerafallen
  • Besuch von Projektdörfern und der Partnerschule in Manang
  • Übergabe von Liftfallen an Bergbauern und Yakhirten
DAS FAIR TRAILS® PROJEKT
Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
Vor dieser Vogelscheuche fürchtet sich der Schneeleopard nicht wirklich. In das kleine Bergdorf Julu ist der Schneeleopard schon mehrfach eingedrungen. Hier werden Fox-Lights zum Herdenschutz dringend benötigt! @Trail Angels

Ein weiterer unumstößlicher Grundpfeiler der Fair Trails® Experiences, ist es ganz konkrete Projekte, die mit der zentralen Geschichte des jeweiligen Fair Trails zu tun haben, zu unterstützen. Die ExpertInnen der Snow Leopard Conservancy haben für uns dieses Projekt ausgesucht: Der Schlüssel für einen erfolgreichen Artenschutz ist ein friedvolles Miteinander von Bergbewohnern und Schneeleopard. Deshalb ist es wichtig, die Großkatzen von den Herden und Dörfern fernzuhalten. Denn nur so kann es gelingen, die wichtige Lebensgrundlage der Bauern und Hirten, ihre Schaf-, Ziegen- und Yakherden vor Angriffen zu schützen. Und den Schneeleoparden auf seine natürliche Beute, die Blauschafe, hinzuleiten. Als besonders effektiv haben sich dabei Lichtfallen, sogenannte Fox Lights erwiesen. Sie sind mit einem Bewegungsmelder versehen und erschrecken den sich anpirschenden Leoparden mit Lichtsignalen.

Aktuell gehen durchschnittlich € 100,– pro Reisenden an die Snow Leopard Conservancy, die für den Ankauf und die gerechte Verteilungspraxis der Lichtfallen verantwortlich zeichnet. Denn ein effizienter und unbürokratischer Beitrag zum Schutz des Schneeleoparden ist uns wichtig.

Schon die Anreise zum Snow Leopard Trail ist ein Abenteuer für sich! Eine unbefestigte Straße windet sich von den suptropischen Hügeln Nepals durch die imposante Marsyangdi Schlucht hinauf in die Gletscherwelt des Annapurna Himal
©Trail Angels

Niemand kennt den Schneeleoparden im Himalaya so gut, wie Tashi R. Ghale. Der bekannte Naturfotograph aus Manang und seine Kollegen von der Third Pole Conservancy begleiten als Experten die Fair Trails Experiences am Snow Leopard Trail. Der Garant für tiefgründige Einblicke in die Welt des Schneeleparden ©Trail Angels

Eine einzigartige Entdeckungsreise: Auf den alten, kunstvoll angelegten Handelspfaden geht es am Snow Leopard Trail hinein in das Reich des Schneeleoparden: Die abgelegenen Gebirgsregionen von Nar Phu und Manang. @Trail Angels/Essl

Herausfordernd: Der Snow Leopard Trail kann in mehreren Varianten erwandert werden. Die anspruchsvollste Experience ist die Originalroute , die über den 5.320m hohen Kang La führt. Tashi R. Ghale mit den Fair Trail Scouts am Pass. @Trail Angels/Essl

Immer auf der Hut: fair Trails Experte Tashi R. Ghale hat in den steilen Hängen etwas Verdächtiges erspäht. Ob es ein Schneeleopard ist? @Trail Angels/Essl

Im Rahmen des Artenschutzprojektes hat die Snow Leopard Conservancy entlang des Snow Leopard Trails mehrere Fotofallen aufgestellt. Diese vor Ort auszulesen und gespannt darauf zu warten, ob ein Schneeleopard in die Fall getappt ist, gehört zu den unvergesslichen Augenblicken dieser Fair Trails Experience. @Tashi R. Gale

Eintauchen und Verstehen lernen: Trail Angel Günter in einem der Projektdörfer am Snow Leopard Trail. Der Schlüssel für ein verständnisvolles Miteinander von Einheimischen und Schneeleoparden liegt im Herdenschutz. Denn die Schafe, Ziegen und Yaks bilden die Existenzgrundlage der Bergbauern in dieser wenig entwickelten Region @Trail Angels

Deshalb unterstützt Fair Trails am Snow Leopard Trail den Ankauf und die Verteilung von Lichtfallen, sogenannter „Fox-Lights“. Um die Schneeleoparden von den Herden fern zu halten. Die Übergabe der Fox Lights an die Projektdörfer gehört zu einem der Höhepunkte bei den Fair Trails Experiences am Snow Leopard Trail. @Tashi R. Ghale

03 — DAS ANGEBOT

Die Fair Trails® Experiences

03

Snow Leopard Trail/Local Life Trail:
Media Explorer Tour

Geführte Trekkingreise mit Mediaproduktion

Startdatum: 03. November 2021
Dauer: 17 Tage
Preis: € 2.318,- p.P.

Snow Leopard Trail:
Die Variante – Annapurna Route
Fair Trails Experience®
Geführte Trekkingreise

Startdatum: April 2022
Dauer: 14 Tage
Preis: ab € 2.122,- p.P.

Snow Leopard Trail:
Das Original – Nar Phu Route
Fair Trails Experience®
Geführte Trekkingreise

Startdatum: Oktober 2022
Dauer: 19 Tage
Preis: ab € 2.621,- p.P.

Snow Leopard Trail:
Himalayan Catwalk

Fair Trails Experience®
Trekking & Safari

Startdatum: November 2022
Dauer: 18 Tage
Preis: wird demnächst bekanntgegeben

Fair Trails® Newsletter

Möchtest du über unsere Fair Trails® Reisen am Laufenden gehalten werden?




Follow us