Local Life Trail

Close to life in Nepal’s mysterious south

Our Local Life Trails take you off the beaten paths and into the real Nepal: close to the life of its diverse ethnic groups, which are spread across the Himalayan state like multifaceted mosaics. This very special Local Life Trail winds its way along the historic Salt Route through the mysterious south of Nepal. Past the remote villages of the semi-nomadic Chepang people in the rugged mountains of the pre-Himalayas to the Tharu fishing people in the jungles of the lowlands. Our adventure tours are accompanied by the well-known environmental activist and food blogger Prashant Khanal, with whom you will immerse yourself deeply into the lives of the people. You will eat and sleep in selected homestays, directly with host families, and also share their daily work routine with them. A journey that truly changes, because Fair Trails also specifically supports the improvement of people’s living conditions along the Local Life Trail. PS: The grand finale is the jungle safari with the team of the world famous Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge, a true pioneer for responsible tourism in Asia.

01 — THE MYTH

The guardians
of the Himalayas

01

Guardians of the Himalayas: This elderly Chepang couple still follows the ancient salt route to get from their remote villages to the bustling markets in the lowlands of the south © Trail Angels

In terms of territory, Nepal is actually quite a small country. With its 147,000 square kilometers, it is roughly the size of Austria and Switzerland combined. However, its very special location between the Indian subcontinent and the Tibetan highlands and its downright dramatic landscape have influenced the country’s settlement history for thousands of years. Today, more than 150 different ethnic groups are spread throughout the country. They live from the lowest point, at 70 meters above sea level in the steaming jungle of the lowlands, to the highest settlements in the world, at about 4500 meters above sea level, at the foot of ice-clad Mt. Everest. A landscape that leaves its mark.

“It often seems to me that landscapes affect the way of thinking, change the forms of thoughts, influence the course of ideas. So that in the end it seems: one thinks and feels differently in every region”.,

as the Bachmann Literature Prize winner Valerie Fritsch has so eloquently put it on paper. The unique diversity of Nepal’s geography has had a decisive influence on the traditions, the food and the culture of its ethnic groups. From the Indo-Aryan people groups in the lowlands of the south to the Tibeto-Burman people, such as the famous Sherpas, in the rugged Himalayan mountains in the north. In a relatively small area, the maximum north-south extension of the country is just 241km, fascinatingly large differences are apparent from one community to the next. A multicolored and multifaceted mosaic, which has remained unnoticed until today far away from the well-known trekking routes, but which constitutes the real character of the country.


With all the diversity, one thing is common to the peoples of Nepal: they are called the “Guardians of the Himalayas”. Because without the people, their cultures, traditions, practices and ways of life, even the highest mountains in the world are just dead, lifeless rocks. The Local Life Trails are therefore dedicated to these guardians and their diversity. To their traditions, their lives and their challenges in a world in upheaval. This very special first Local Life Trail starts in the center of Kathmandu, the capital of the country, and then moves on to the mysterious south. Our Local Life Trail experience focuses on the lives of the Newar, Chepang, Gurung and Tharu people, all of whom live along the ancient salt routes. They used to connect China with India, thus passing through Nepal and promoting a prolific cultural exchange through trade.
+

The true Nepal: Its true character is revealed to you off the beaten trekking paths in remote villages. As in the labyrinth of the Mahabharat Mountains, connecting the world of the eight-thousander-peaks with the Indian lowlands. ©Trail Angels/Humitsch
The Local Life Trails give you a deep insight into the life of the different ethnic groups, their traditions, their food and their labour. ©Trail Angels/Humitsch
Guardian of the Himalayas: An old Gurung woman in the enchanting village of Baspur on the Local Life Trail @Trail Angels
Shy and a little proud, this Chepang presents her traditional oil extractor. Soap is produced from jungle produce and sold at the market ©Trail Angels
The Tharu people of the lowlands of the Terai have developed a very special technique for fishing in the shallow jungle rivers. You will learn how this works by helping them with their fishing. @Trail Angels

Centuries-old cultures meet a world in transition. What does the future hold for this little girl at the Local Life Trail? @Trail Angels

02 — THE EXPERIENCE

Dive into the world of
the guardians of the Himalayas

02

Fishing with the Tharu at the jungle river: One of the many highlights of this unique adventure trip through the mysterious south of Nepal. The Fair Trails team around Günter, Peter and Prashant tried it themselves and were impressed ©Trail Angels

THE ROUTE

Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
The Local Life Trail follows an ancient salt route then leads through the labyrinth of the Mahabhrat Mountains down into the Terai, the lowlands of southern Nepal. ©Trail Angels/Raj Gyawali
The Local Life Trail in southern Nepal starts in the center of Kathmandu, the capital of Nepal, where the traces of the historic salt routes are picked up in markets and narrow alleys. One of these salt routes is used for the actual trek, which starts at the Trishuli River that flows between the Himalayas and the Mahabharat Mountains, the so-called pre-Himalayas. The route crosses these same Mahabharat Mountains from north to south, with the first section climbing quite steeply into the labyrinth of the pre-Himalayas. The rest of the route then follows the paths of the Salt Route, connecting remote villages of different ethnic groups, such as the Gurung or the Chepang. The landscape alternates between fertile cultivated land and dense monsoon forest, with small mountain passes, so-called Bhanjyang, being crossed again and again. Especially here, the path also repeatedly gives a view of two beguiling world landscapes: In the north, the ice-armored peaks of the Himalayas, from the Annapuran Himal to the particularly close Manaslu and Ganesh Himal to the Langtang Himal. And to the south, the steaming lush green lowlands of the Ganges plain. At the fortified village of Upardhandaghi, the trail then descends steeply into the Terai lowlands, where the trek ends in the bustling market of Shatikor.

The rest of the trip benefits from several transfers to reach the two highlights of the Local Life Trail in the Terai lowlands in a time-saving way: The Tharu village of Meghauli at the confluence of the two great rivers Narayani and Rapti and the famous Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge in Chitwan National Park, where a memorable jungle safari experience is yet to come. The tour then concludes with the final transfer to Kathmandu.

+
THE FAIR TRAILS® EXPERT
Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
Prashant Khanal (left) is our very knowledgeable and insightful Fair Trails Expert for this Local Life Trail. Here in the picture with the Fair Trails Expert Peter and Mingma Sherpa. ©Trail Angels
Prashant Khanal is a blogger, researcher and entrepreneur. His passion is to explore native Nepali ingredients and foods, find out more about the diverse food culture and traditional recipes, and try to spread the word to inspire as many people as possible. He currently runs a food blog called The Gundruk and is one of the partners of the equally celebrated and charming restaurant called Raithaane (which translates to “local”). Raithaane is located in Patan, the most pristine of the three royal cities in Kathmandu’s valley. Prashant Khanal travels all over the country to search for, collect, and most importantly understand different ingredients and recipes.

So he couldn’t be better qualified as a Fair Trails expert, especially for the Local Life Trails. He has the passion and the professional expertise, has traveled extensively, and has a broad knowledge of how local foods can evolve and change around the world. Combine that with his excellent command of English, his thoughtful and pleasant nature, and his desire to promote Nepalese cuisine around the world, and he makes the perfect Fair Trails expert.

+
THE PROGRAM AND ITS HIGHLIGHTS
Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
The Local Life Trail: Close to life in the villages of the mysterious south of Nepal. This girl is just returning from collecting fodder for the sheep and goats in the morning in the Gurung village Baspur ©Trail Angels
The travel program at the Local Life Trail is characterized by its diversity and surprising insights. It starts with a fascinating tour through old Kathmandu. Along the so-called “Kathmandu Food Trail” the traces of the old salt caravans are picked up and immersed in the culture of the Newar people. This is followed by the transfer to the enchantingly located Himalica Camp on the wildly roaring Trishuli River. The camp forms the spectacular base camp for trekking across the Mahabharat Mountains. The trekking through fertile cultivated land, dense monsoon forests and over rugged mountain ridges is spectacular, but without making any major technical demands. In addition, our Fair Trails expert Prashant Khanal opens up profound and also surprising insights into the life of the villages along the way. Highlights of the trek will be the working day with the Chepang in the enchantingly located village of Uparghandaghi and the handover of urgently needed water filters in the selected project villages. The second part of the itinerary will offer you two unforgettable experiences in the lowlands of the Terai: fishing in the jungle river with the Tharu fishing people and jungle safaris with the great team of the Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge. From the “Elephant Walk” through the jungle to the jeep safari into the core zone of the Chitwan National Park.

The program highlights of the Fair Trails® Experience at a glance:

  • Kathmandu Food Trail
  • Himalica Camp at the Trishuli river
  • Trekking through the Mahabharat Mountains
  • Overnight stay in homestays with a host familyn
  • In-depth insights from Fair Trails expert Prashanta Khanal
  • Handover of water filters in the project villages
  • Fishing in the jungle river with the Tharu fishing people
  • Jungle safaris with the team of the world famous Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge

+

THE FAIR TRAILS® PROJECT

Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau

Smart Paani’s portable water filters make a valuable contribution to a safe drinking water supply in the remote regions of Nepal. ©Smart Paani

In the course of the Fair Trails Experiences, we always support a specific project that serves nature protection, the preservation of cultural heritage or social development. The selection of the projects is done in close cooperation with our Fair Trails experts and selected local partner organizations to guarantee efficient and unbureaucratic help. At Local Life Trail, we partner with SmartPaani, an innovative Nepalese company that develops environmentally friendly and economically sustainable water management solutions. We plan to use proceeds from the Fair Trails Experiences to fund portable water filters for the remote Chepang village of Jhandala, an overnight stop on the Local Life Trail. Thanks to these water filters with silver nano-technology and 4 filtration levels, purification of drinking water can be done easily and directly on site. Without the need for boiling, which saves costs and, most importantly, valuable firewood. As there is a shortage of clean drinking water in this region, our project helps to provide local communities with clean drinking water, thus ensuring a healthier life and also preventing deforestation of monsoon forests.

It is planned to hand over one water filter per Fair Trails Experience directly to the village community of Jhandala. In this way, you too will become an active contributor to this very important project in the Mahabharat Mountains.

Blue Ridge Mountains: This Local Life Trail crosses the labyrinth of the Mahabharat Mountains. This so-called “Pre-Himalaya” spectacularly separates two world landscapes, the ice-armored Himalayas and the subtropical Ganges Plain ©Trail Angels
In the heart of the Mahabharat Mountains, the Local Life Trail follows the historic salt routes that were once used to transport the treasured Himalayan salt from Tibet over the high Himalayan passes to India. ©Trail Angels
Trekking along the Local Life Trail over the Mahabharat Mountains is spectacular and varied. A welcome cool down at one of the many waterfalls ©Trail Angels
On the Local Life Trail: trekking through the fertile cultivated landscapes is particularly appealing. Here during the descent from the Mahabharat Mountains down to the Terai lowlands. @Trail Angels
Fair Trails expert Prashant Khanal knows a lot about the life and culture of the different ethnic groups along the Local Life Trail. Here he presents the operation of a basic grain mill of the Chepang people ©Trail Angels

In austrian hotels this would probably be called “Show Cooking”. The traditional cuisine along the Local Life Trail tastes excellent: Preparing dinner at the Upardhandagi ©Trail Angels

The magic of the Local Life Trail: Close to the life of the people in Nepal! A warm farewell to a Fair Trails Experience group after a day of work together in one of the project villages. ©Trail Angels

While fishing in the jungle river, this armored rhino paid us an unexpected visit. Not unusual for the Tharu fishermen, but for us it was an unforgettable experience. @Trail Angels

Protected by elephants you are safe: The “Elephant Walks” of Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge are unique and offer breathtaking encounters with the fascinating inhabitants of Chitwan National Park. @Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge

Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge – the stylish finale of an memorable trip. The world-famous lodge on the edge of Chitwan National Park is characterized by a dedicated conservation concept and a very special charm ©Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge

03 — THE OFFER

The Fair Trails® Experiences

03

Local Life Trail/Snow Leopard Trail:
Media Explorer Tour

Guided trekking with media production

Start date: 03 November 2021
Duration: 17 days
Price: € 2.318,- p.P.

Local Life Trail:
Nepal’s mysterious south
Fair Trails Experience®
Guided trekking tour

Start date: April 2022
Duration: 15 days
Price: from € 2.980,- p.P.

Fair Trails® Newsletter

Like to be kept up to date on our Fair Trails® trips?




 

Follow us

Local Life Trail

Nah am Leben in Nepals
geheimnis­vollem Süden

Unsere Local Life Trails entführen Dich, abseits ausgetretener Pfade, in das wahre Nepal: Nah am Leben seiner so vielfältigen Volksgruppen, die wie ein facettenreiches Mosaik über den Himalayastaat verteilt sind. So schlängelt sich dieser ganz spezielle Local Life Trail entlang der historischen Salzroute durch den geheimnisvollen Süden Nepals. Vorbei an den abgelegenen Dörfern der halbnomadischen Chepang in den schroffen Bergen des Vorhimalayas bis zum Fischervolk der Tharu im Dschungel des Tieflandes. Dabei werden unsere Erlebnisreisen vom bekannten Umweltaktivisten und Food-Blogger Prashant Khanal begleitet, mit dem Du tief in das Leben der Menschen eintauchst. So wird in ausgewählten Homestays, direkt bei Gastfamilien gegessen und übernachtet und auch der Arbeitsalltag mit ihnen geteilt. Eine Reise, die wahrlich verändert, denn Fair Trails unterstützt auch gezielt die Verbesserung der Lebensbedingungen der Menschen entlang des Local Life Trails. PS: Den krönenden Abschluss bilden die Dschungelsafaris mit dem Team der weltberühmten Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge, einem wahren Pionier für nachhaltigen Tourismus in Asien.

01 — DER MYTHOS

Die Wächter
des Himalayas

01

Wächter des Himalayas: Dieses ältere Chepang Paar folgt noch heute der alten Salzroute, um von ihren entlegenen Dörfern zu den belebten Märkten im Tiefland des Südens zu gelangen © Trail Angels

Nepal ist flächenmäßig eigentlich ein recht kleines Land. Mit seinen 147.000km2 entspricht es ungefähr der Größe von Österreich und der Schweiz zusammen. Seine ganz besondere Lage zwischen dem indischen Subkontinent und dem tibetischen Hochland und seine geradezu dramatische Landschaft haben jedoch die Besiedlungsgeschichte des Landes seit Jahrtausenden beeinflusst. So verteilen sich heute mehr als 150 verschiedene Ethnien über das ganze Land. Sie leben dabei vom niedrigsten Punkt, in 70 Meter Seehöhe im dampfenden Dschungel des Tieflandes bis hin zu den höchsten Siedlungen der Welt, in circa 4500 Metern Seehöhe, am Fuße des eisgepanzerten Mt. Everest. Und Landschaft prägt.

„Oft will mir scheinen, die Formen der Landschaften schlagen sich auf das Denken nieder, verändern die Formen der Gedanken, beeinflussen den Gedankengang. Sodass es einem schlussendlich vorkommt: Man denkt und fühlt in jeder Gegend anders“,

wie es die Bachmann Preisträgerin Valerie Fritsch so wohlformuliert zu Papier gebracht hat. So hat die einzigartige Vielfalt der Geographie Nepals die Traditionen, das Essen, die Kultur seiner Ethnien ganz entscheidend geprägt. Von den indoarischen Volkgruppen im Tiefland des Südens bis zu den tibeto-birmanischen Völkern , wie den berühmten Scherpas, im rauen Himalayagebirge im Norden. Auf relativ kleinem Raum, die maximale Nord-Süderstreckung des Landes beträgt gerade einmal 241km, eröffnen sich daher von Gemeinschaft zu Gemeinschaft faszinierend große Unterschiede. Eine vielfarbiges und facettenreiches Mosaik, welches bis heute abseits der ausgetretenen Trekkingrouten noch vielfach unbeachtet geblieben ist, aber den wirklichen Charakter des Landes ausmacht.


Bei aller Vielfalt, eines ist den Völkern Nepals gemein: sie werden die „Wächter des Himalaya“ genannt. Denn ohne die Menschen, ihre Kulturen, Traditionen, Praktiken und Lebensweisen, sind auch die höchsten Berge der Welt nur tote, leblose Felsen. Diesen Wächtern und ihrer Mannigfaltigkeit sind daher die Local Life Trails gewidmet. Ihren Traditionen, ihrem Leben und ihren Herausforderungen in einer Welt, die sich im Umbruch befindet. Wobei dieser ganz besondere erste Local Life Trail im Zentrum Kathmandus, der Hauptstadt des Landes, startet, um dann in den geheimnisvollen Süden vorzudringen. Dabei konzentrieren sich unsere Erlebnisreisen am Local Life Trail auf das Leben der Newar, der Chepang, der Gurung und der Tharu, welche allesamt entlang der alten Salzrouten leben. Sie verbanden früher China mit Indien, haben so durch Nepal geführt und mit dem Handel einen fruchtbaren kulturellen Austausch gefördert.
+

Das wahre Nepal: Sein wahrer Charakter eröffnet sich Dir abseits der ausgetretenen Trekkingpfade in entlegenen Dörfern. Wie im Labyrinth der Mahabharat Berge, die Welt der Achttausender mit dem indischen Tiefland verbinden ©Trail Angels/Humitsch
Die Local Life Trails eröffnen Dir tiefgründige Einblicke in das Leben der verschiedenen Volkgruppen, ihrer Traditionen, ihres Essens und Ihrer Arbeitswelt ©Trail Angels/Humitsch
Wächterin des Himalayas: Eine alte Gurung Frau im zauberhaften Dorf Baspur am Local Life Trail @Trail Angels
Schüchtern und ein wenig stolz präsentiert diese Chepang ihre traditionelle Fettpresse. Aus den Früchten des Dschungels wird Seife produziert und am Markt verkauft ©Trail Angels
Die Tharu im Tiefland des Terai haben für die seichten Dschungelflüsse eine ganz besondere Technik für das Fischen entwickelt. Wie das funktioniert, wirst Du erfahren, indem Du Ihnen beim Fischen hilfst @Trail Angels

Jahrhunderte alte Kulturen treffen auf eine Welt im Umbruch. Was wohl die Zukunft für dieses kleine Mädchen am Local Life Trail bringen wird? @Trail Angels

02 — DIE EXPERIENCE

Eintauchen in die Welt
der Wächter des Himalayas

02

Fischen mit den Tharu am Dschungelfluß: Einer der vielen Höhepunkte dieser einzigartigen Erlebnisreise durch den geheimnisvollen Süden Nepals. Das Fair Trails Team um Günter, Peter und Prashant legte selbst Hand an und war beeindruckt ©Trail Angels

DIE ROUTE

Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
Dieser Local Life Trail folgt einer alten Salzroute dann durch das Labyrinth der Mahabhrat Berge bis hinunter in das Terai, dem Tiefland im Süden Nepals ©Trail Angels/Raj Gyawali
Der Local Life Trail im Süden Nepals startet im Zentrum Kathmandus, der Hauptstadt Nepals, wo auf Märkten und in engen Gassen die Spuren der historischen Salzrouten aufgelesen werden. Einer dieser Salzrouten folgt dann auch das eigentliche Trekking, das am Trishuli Fluss startet, der sich seinen Lauf zwischen Himalaya und den Mahabharat Bergen, dem sogenannten Vorhimalaya, bahnt. Die Route durchquert eben diese Mahabharat Berge von Norden nach Süden, wobei das erste Teilstück recht steil in das Labyrinth des Vorhimalayas hinaufsteigt. Die weitere Route verbindet dann auf den Pfaden der Salzroute entlegene Dörfer verschiedener Ethnien, wie der Gurung oder der Chepang. Landschaftlich wechselt dabei fruchtbares Kulturland mit dichtem Monsunwald ab, wobei immer wieder kleinere Gebirgspässe, sogenannte Bhanjyang überquert werden. Gerade hier gibt der Pfad auch immer wieder den Blick frei auf zwei betörende Weltlandschaften: Im Norden die eisgepanzerten Gipfel des Himalayas, vom Annapuran Himal über die besonders nahen Manaslu und Ganesh Himal bis zum Langtang Himal. Und im Süden die dampfende sattgrüne Tiefland der Ganges Ebene. Im Festungsdorf Upardhandaghi schlängelt sich der Pfad dann steil hinunter in das Terai Tiefland, wo das Trekking in belebten Markt von Shatikor endet.

Der weitere Reiseverlauf profitiert von mehrere Transfers, um die beiden Höhepunkte des Local Life Trails im Terai Tiefland zeitsparend zu erreichen: Das Tharu Dorf Meghauli am Zusammenfluss der beiden großen Flüsse Narayani und Rapti und die berühmte Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge im Chitwan Nationalpark, wo noch unvergessliche Dschungel-Safari Erlebnisse warten. Die Runde schließt sich dann mit dem abschließenden Transfer nach Kathmandu.

+
DER FAIR TRAILS® EXPERTE
Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
Prashant Khanal (links) ist unser so kompetenter und besonnener Fair Trails Experte für diesen Local Life Trail. Hier im Bild mit dem Fair Trails Experte Peter und Mingma Sherpa ©Trail Angels
Prashant Khanal ist ein Blogger, Forscher und Unternehmer. Seine Leidenschaft ist es, sich mit einheimischen nepalesischen Zutaten und Lebensmitteln auseinanderzusetzen, mehr über die vielfältige Esskultur und traditionelle Rezepte herauszufinden und zu versuchen, diese zu verbreiten damit so viele Menschen wie möglich dafür zu begeistern. Zurzeit betreibt er einen Food-Blog namens The Gundruk und ist einer der Partner des ebenso gefeierten wie bezaubernden Restaurants namens Raithaane (was übersetzt so viel wie „Lokal“ bedeutet). Das Raithaane befindet sich in Patan, der ursprünglichsten der drei Königsstädte im Tal von Kathmandu. Prashant Khanal reist durch das ganze Land, um neue Zutaten und Rezepte zu suchen, zu sammeln und vor allem auch zu verstehen.

Er könnte daher nicht besser als ein Fair-Trails-Experte, gerade für die Local Life Trails geeignet sein. Er hat die Leidenschaft und die fachliche Expertise, ist weit gereist und verfügt über ein breitgefächertes Wissen, wie sich einheimische Lebensmittel auf der ganzen Welt entwickeln und verändern können. Kombiniert man das mit seinen ausgezeichneten Englischkenntnissen, seinem besonnenen und angenehmen Wesen und seinem Wunsch, die nepalesische Küche weltweit bekannt zu machen, wird er zum perfekten Fair Trails-Experten.
+
DAS PROGRAMM UND SEINE HÖHEPUNKTE
Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau
Der Local Life Trail: Nah am Leben in den Dörfern des geheimnisvollen Südens von Nepal. Dieses Mädchen kehrt gerade vom morgendlichen Futtersammeln für die Schafe und Ziegen ins Gurungdorf Baspur zurück ©Trail Angels
Das Reiseprogramm am Local Life Trail zeichnet sich durch seine Vielfalt und überraschende Einblicke aus. Es beginnt mit einem faszinierenden Rundgang durch das alte Kathmandu. Entlang des sogenannten „Kathmandu Food Trails“ werden die Spuren der alten Salzkarawanen aufgelesen und in die Kultur der Newar eingetaucht. Es folgt der Transfer zum zauberhaft gelegenen Himalica Camp am wild tosenden Trishuli Fluss. Das Camp bildet das spektakuläre Basislager für das Trekking quer über das Mahabharat Gebirge. Das Trekking durch fruchtbares Kulturland, dichte Monsunwälder und über zerklüftete Bergkämme ist spektakulär, ohne jedoch größere technische Anforderungen zu stellen. Darüberhinaus eröffnet unser Fair Trails Experte Prashant Khanal tiefgründige und auch überraschende Einblicke in das Leben der Dörfer entlang des Weges. Höhepunkte des Trekkings werden der Arbeitstag mit den Chepang im zauberhaft gelegenen Dorf Uparghandaghi und die Überreichung dringend benötigter Wasserfilter in den ausgewählten Projektdörfern sein. Der zweite Teil des Reiseprogramms bietet Dir dann im Tiefland des Terai dann noch zwei unvergessliche Erlebnisse: das gemeinsame Fischen im Dschungelfluss mit dem Fischervolk der Tharu und die Dschungelsafaris mit dem grandiosen Team der Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge. Vom „Elephant Walk“ durch den Dschungel bis zur Jeep Safari in die Kernzone des Chitwan Nationalparks.

Die Progamm Höhepunkte der Fair Trails Experience im Überblick:

  • Kathmandu Food Trail
  • Himalica Camp am Trishuli Fluss
  • Das Trekking durch die Mahabharat Berge
  • Übernachtung in Homestays bei Gastfamilien
  • Tiefgründige Einblicke durch Fair Trails Experten Prashant Khanal
  • Übergabe von Wasserfiltern in den Projektdörfern
  • Fischen im Dschungelfluss mit dem Fischervolk der Tharu
  • Dschungelsafaris mit dem Team der weltberühmten Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge

+

DAS FAIR TRAILS® PROJEKT

Panoramaweg Südalpen Panorama am Hochplateau

Die tragbaren Wasserfilter von Smart Paani leisten einen wertvollen Beitrag für eine sichere Trinkwasserversorgung in den entlegenen Regionen von Nepal. ©Smart Paani 

Im Zuge der Fair Trails Experiences wird immer ein konkretes Projekt unterstützt, welches dem Naturschutz, der Erhaltung des kulturellen Erbes oder der sozialen Entwicklung dient. Die Auswahl der Projekte erfolgt in enger Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Fair Trails ExpertInnen und ausgewählten Partnerorganisationen vor Ort, um eine effiziente und unbürokratische Hilfe zu garantieren. Am Local Life Trail arbeiten wir mit SmartPaani, einem innovativen nepalesischen Unternehmen, das umweltfreundliche und wirtschaftlich nachhaltige Lösungen für das Wassermanagement entwickelt, zusammen. Aus den Einnahmen der Fair Trails Experiences wollen wir für das entlegene Chepang Dorf Jhandala, einem Übernachtungsort am Local Life Trail, tragbare Wasserfilter finanzieren. Dank dieser Wasserfilter mit Silber-Nano-Technologie und 4 Filtrationsstufen kann die Reinigung von Trinkwasser einfach und direkt vor Ort durchgeführt werden. Ohne, dass ein Abkochen erforderlich ist, was Kosten und vor allem wertvolles Brennholz spart. Da in dieser Region ein Mangel an sauberem Trinkwasser herrscht, trägt unser Projekt dazu bei, die lokalen Gemeinden mit sauberem, Trinkwasser zu versorgen, damit ein gesünderes Leben zu gewährleisten und auch die Abholzung der Monsunwälder zu verhindern.

Es ist geplant, jeweils einen Wasserfilter pro Fair Trails Experience direkt an die Dorfgemeinschaft von Jhandala zu überreichen. So wirst auch Du zu einem aktiven Mitwirkenden für dieses so wichtige Projekt in den Mahabharat Bergen.

Blue Ridge Mountains: Dieser Local Life Trail überquert das Labyrinth der Mahabharat Berge. Dieser sogenannte „Vorhimalaya“ trennt spektakulär zwei Weltlandschaften, den eisgepanzerten Himalaya und die subtropische Ganges Ebene ©Trail Angels
Im Herzen der Mahabharat Berge: Der Local Life Trail folgt dabei den historischen Salzrouten, auf denen einst das begehrte Himalayasalz von Tibet über die hohen Himalayapässe nach Indien transportiert wurde. ©Trail Angels
Das Trekking am Local Life Trail über die Mahabharat Berge ist spektakulär und abwechslungsreich. Willkommene Abkühlung an einem der vielen Wasserfälle ©Trail Angels
Am Local Life Trail: besonders reizvoll ist das Trekking durch die fruchtbare Kulturlandschaften. Hier beim Abstieg aus den Mahabharat Bergen hinunter in das Terai Tiefland @Trail Angels
Fair Trails Experte Prashant Khanal weiß viel über das Leben und die Kultur der verschiedenen Volksgruppen entlang des Local Life Trails zu berichten. Hier präsentiert er die Funktionsweise einer einfachen Getreidemühle der Chepang ©Trail Angels

In österreichischen Hotels würde man dies wohl „Show Cooking“ nennen. Die traditionelle Küche entlang des Local Life Trails schmeckt vorzüglich: Zubereitung des Abendessens ins Upardhandagi ©Trail Angels

Der Zauber des Local Life Trails: Nah am Leben der Menschen in Nepal! Herzliche Verabschiedung einer Fair Trails Experience Gruppe nach einem gemeinsamen Arbeitstag in einem der Projektdörfer ©Trail Angels

Beim Fischen im Dschungelfluss stattete uns dieses Panzernashorn einen unerwarteten Besuch ab. Für die Tharu Fischer nicht Ungewöhnliches, für uns ein unvergessliches Erlebnis @Trail Angels

Im Schutze unserer Elefanten bist Du sicher: Die „Elephant Walks“ der Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge sind einzigartig und eröffnen atemberaubende Begegnungen mit den faszinierenden Bewohnern des Chitwan Nationalparks @Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge

Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge – der stilvoller Ausklang einer unvergesslichen Reise. Die weltberühmte Lodge am Rande des Chitwan Nationalparks zeichnet ein engagiertes Artenschutzkonzept und ein ganz besonderer Charme aus ©Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge

03 — DAS ANGEBOT

Die Fair Trails® Experiences

03

Local Life Trail/Snow Leopard Trail:
Media Explorer Tour

Geführte Trekkingreise mit Mediaproduktion

Startdatum: 03. November 2021
Dauer: 17 Tage
Preis: € 2.318,- p.P.

Local Life Trail:
Nepals geheimnisvoller Süden
Fair Trails Experience®
Geführte Trekkingreise

Startdatum: April 2022
Dauer: 15 Tage
Preis: ab € 2.980,- p.P.

Fair Trails® Newsletter

Möchtest du über unsere Fair Trails® Reisen am Laufenden gehalten werden?


 



Follow us