IMPACT

This is the impact of Fair Trails® 

It’s worth taking a closer look on this page! Fair Trails represents a new tomorrow, a sustainable transformation of travel. Just follow the Fair Trails trip in the beautiful painting of the famous Nepalese painter Wang Lama and learn more about the impact of this kind of journey.

01 — MINIMUM LENGTH OF STAY

Effective
for your carbon footprint

01

Take your time, dive in, go deeper. Fair Trails® Experiences take time. And that’s a good thing! Resting on the famous Salt Route in Dolpo/West Nepal ©Trail Angels
The minimum length of stay criteria sounds simple, but it’s effective! Because Fair Trails® Experiences are lifetime experiences and should trigger a change. Both in the destination you are traveling to and in yourself. And that takes time. Which is good. Because it can bring about more change in you and in the destination. And at the same time improve the carbon footprint of your trip. Well, there is no more climate-damaging form of travel than a short vacation by plane. That’s why the minimum travel duration for Fair Trails® Experiences is 14 days. You will not find a shorter trip on this website!

02 — CO2 COMPENSATION

Fly fair
with Climate Austria

02

Allowing nature to breathe a sigh of relief. Climate Austria’s projects promote reforestation programs and investments in renewable energy. ©Trail Angels
WWe are completely honest: Our Fair Trails® Experiences are carried out in countries that cannot be reached without airplanes. And flying is harmful to the climate. To make all these great trips possible, it goes without saying that we compensate your flight. With our partner, Climate Austria, the official compensation platform of the Republic of Austria. And with Climate Austria we are also working on supporting more projects in our selected destinations in the future. If you have already compensated your flight yourself, this amount will of course be credited to your travel price.

03 — SELECTED DESTINATIONS

Especially
unconventional

03

Sustainable tourism for development: The remote village of Phu on the border with Tibet is located on the Snow Leopard Trail and should benefit carefully, wisely and in the long term from this trail. ©Trail Angels/Essl

The destination of a Fair Trails® Experience is always chosen very carefully. It is important for us to go off the beaten track and to set an impulse for responsible tourism in underdeveloped regions. By revealing the great mysteries and particularities of the various regions to you with the support of selected local experts. Whether challenges in nature or species protection, the preservation of special cultural heritage or questions of social development: A Fair Trails® Experience is always dedicated to a fascinating topic – from local to global significance. And always connected with the involvement and active support of a project, which locally and unbureaucratically stands up for the Fair Trails® goals.

04 — ECOLOGICAL FOOTPRINT

Sustainable
at all stages

04

Nourishing yourself with what the land provides is an active contribution to climate and environmental protection as well as to regional value creation. And it usually tastes delicious, too. ©Trail Angels
When designing a Fair Trails® Experience, we and our partners naturally attach the greatest importance to a high level of ecological sustainability. Also to keep our footprint in the traveled or hiked region as small as possible. In doing so, we do not only proceed theoretically, but as practically as possible. And so we focus more on the continuous education and training of our Fair Trails® partners than on hardly verifiable catalogs of criteria. Because a common set of values is more important to us than constant controls. From waste avoidance, to waste management, to avoiding domestic flights as far as possible, as well as locally sourced meals are just a few examples of the ecological design of our Fair Trails® Experiences.
05 — FAIR WORKING CONDITIONS

Empower
and collaborate

05

Smells like Team Spirit: Fair working conditions are one of the most important cornerstones of the Fair Trails® Experiences. Moreover, they increase the satisfaction of the trekking crew. This group at Renjo La clearly enjoys their job! ©Trail Angels

The question we face here is as simply formulated as it is difficult to answer: How can we create just journeys in a world that is yet very unjust? It is incredibly important to us that our Fair Trails® Experiences are not carried out at the expense of local service providers, either socially or economically. To that end, we select our local trekking agencies primarily based on their willingness to share our values. We work together on the products and, once they have done their homework, they are given the Fair Trails® label. With this, we ensure for example fair wages and the best possible insurance coverage for the trekking crew. We also offer them opportunities for further education and, as a result, for social progression.

06 – REGIONAL ADDED VALUE

Welcome to your
home away from home

06

The comeback of the good old private guesthouse: accommodation in so-called homestays with families enables travelers to have inspiring encounters and families to increase their income. ©Trail Angels
NIn addition to environmental and social sustainability, the Fair Trails® program is also committed to increasing regional value creation. Because with Fair Trails®, long-term sustainable development clearly takes priority over short-sighted, quick profits. To ensure that destinations truly benefit from our travels, we prefer lodge and homestay trekking over tent trekking in all Fair Trails® Experiences where possible. We stay in family-run lodges and hotels or directly with the families in so-called homestays, to ensure that the income goes directly to the locals. And we attach great importance to the use of regional food. Thus, in addition to the hosts, local agriculture is also supported.
07 — KNOWLEDGE OF LOCAL EXPERTS
Learn
and discover

07

Tashi R. Ghale is our Fair Trails® expert for the Snow Leopard Trail. The nature photographer is involved in various research projects and has dedicated his life to the protection of the Snow Leopard. ©Trail Angels
An unwavering cornerstone of Fair Trails® Experiences is the guidance provided by local experts. These experts have a unique knowledge of the great mysteries and stories of each Fair Trails® Experience. And only in this way do they open up an incomparable, unique travel experience for you. With our Fair Trails® Experts we raise the undiscovered treasures of the destination, strengthen the local self-confidence and secure an additional income for the experts. And of course we strive to provide you with the best companions during the Fair Trails® Experience – from the renowned Snow Leopard expert to the nationally known food blogger and climate activist.
08 – EXPERIENCES FOR A LIFETIME
Stories,
unique & forever yours

08

Elephants are no tourist buses: Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge is a pioneer for a species-appropriate interaction with the gentle giants. The foot march through the Chitwan National Park, attentively accompanied and guarded, is an unforgettable experience for this very reason. ©Trail Angels
This impact is meant for you: Fair Trails® Experiences offer you experiences that you would otherwise hardly ever or never experience. And you will certainly not forget them. Memories and magical moments that will last a lifetime. The Fair Trails® Experiences do not focus on the mere sensation, but on a profound adventure. So you dive deep into the secrets of the Fair Trails® Universe, get involved in the challenges of the destination, thus change your perspective and return to your home with a new view on what you have witnessed and learned. The Fair Trails® Experience sparked a change not only in the destination, but also in you.

09 – PROJECT COMMITMENT

Engaging yourself
on the right spot

09

The Snow Leopard has no longer any respect for the scarecrow. Today, the mystical big cat is kept away from villages and herds with light traps, so-called “fox lights”. ©Trail Angels

Supporting a local project with a part of the travel revenues from the Fair Trails® programs is the simplest exercise. For example, Trail Angels currently deduct 4% from their commission of the travel price and use this contribution for a selected project. However, it is more challenging to select the right project with the greatest possible impact. And to find professional partners on site, such as the Snow Leopard Conservancy, who look after these projects and fulfill them with life in the long term. Also, to design the Fair Trails® Experience program in a way to ensure that you are actively involved in the project. For example, delivering light traps to yak herders on the Snow Leopard Trail or much-needed water filters to remote villages in the Mahabharat Mountains on the Local Life Trail. We’ve made all of this happen for our Fair Trails Experiences – and we’re proud of it!

10 – BECOMING AN ALLY

Seeing the world
as a global village with us

10

Change through Travel: Fair Trails® Experiences provides unique, profound experiences and invites you to become an ally for regional sustainability. Helping young people in the Himalayas and elsewhere growing wings. ©Trail Angels
The Fair Trails® Experiences claim to be more than sustainable and responsible tourism. They are also role models for a new, transformative travel. Travels that trigger a change in the destination as well as in you, the traveler. Because through your immersion, your change of perspective and your engagement, you will return to your life less as a traveler and more as an involved person. Sharpened with a new perspective on the big challenges outside our affluent society. And with the awareness that you have made a small but important contribution to a better world with your journey. That’s why we don’t measure our success in the number of bookings, but whether we gain allies. Allies for our mission with the Fair Trails®, of fair travel in a not all that fair world. Spread this idea, maybe return to a Fair Trails Experience one day and stay connected to the projects. Become an ally. This mission can not have enough supporters!

Life Time Experience

You want to travel and make your own contribution with us? Here you can find all information and offers for our various Fair Trails®!

IMPACT

So wirken die Fair Trails® 

Es lohnt sich, einen genaueren Blick auf diese Seite zu werfen! Denn Fair Trails steht für einen neuen Morgen, für einen nachhaltigen Wandel des Reisens. Folge einfach einer Fair Trails Reise im wunderschönen Gemälde des bekannten nepalesischen Malers Wang Lama und erfahre dabei mehr, wie eine solche Reise wirkt.

01 — MINDESTREISEDAUER

Wirksam
für deine Klimabilanz

01

Sich Zeit lassen, eintauchen, tiefer gehen. Fair Trails® Experiences benötigen Zeit. Und das ist gut so! Rast auf der berühmten Salzroute in Dolpo/Westnepal ©Trail Angels
Das Kriterium der Mindestreisedauer klingt einfach, ist aber wirksam! Denn Fair Trails® Experiences sind Erlebnisse fürs ganze Leben und sollen einen Wandel auslösen. In der Destination, die Du bereist und bei Dir selbst. Und das benötigt Zeit. Was gut ist. Denn damit kann sie bei Dir und in der Destination mehr bewirken. Und ganz nebenbei auch die Klimabilanz Deiner Reise verbessern. Nun, es gibt halt keine klimaschädlichere Form des Reisens als Kurzurlaube mit dem Flugzeug. Deshalb beträgt die Mindestreisedauer für Fair Trails® Experiences auch 14 Tage. Und eine kürzere Reise wirst Du hier auf dieser Webseite auch sicher nicht finden!

02 — CO2 KOMPENSATION

Fair fliegen
mit Climate Austria

02

Damit die Natur aufatmen kann. Mit den Projekten von Climate Austria werden Wiederaufforstungsprogramme und Investitionen in regenerative Energie gefördert. ©Trail Angels
Wir sind ganz ehrlich: Unsere Fair Trails® Experiences werden in Ländern durchgeführt, die ohne Flugzeug nicht sinnvoll erreicht werden können. Und Fliegen ist nun mal klimaschädlich. Um all die großartigen Reisen dennoch möglich zu machen, ist es selbstverständlich, dass wir Deinen Flug kompensieren. Mit unserem Partner, Climate Austria, der offiziellen Kompensationsplattform der Republik Österreich. Und mit Climate Austria arbeiten wir auch daran, dass in Zukunft vermehrt Projekte in unseren ausgewählten Destinationen unterstützt werden. Solltest Du Deinen Flug schon vorher selbst kompensiert haben, wird Dir dieser Betrag natürlich beim Reisepreis gutgeschrieben.

03 — AUSGEWÄHLTE REISEZIELE

Besonders
unkonventionell

03

Nachhaltiger Tourismus für Entwicklung: Das entlegene Dorf Phu an der Grenze zu Tibet liegt am Snow Leopard Trail und soll von diesem schonend, mit Bedacht und Langfristig profitieren. ©Trail Angels/Essl

Das Ziel einer Fair Trails® Experience wird immer mit Bedacht gewählt. Dabei ist es uns wichtig, abseits ausgetretener Pfade, mit nachhaltigem Tourismus Impulse in wenig entwickelten Regionen zu setzen. Indem wir Dir, unterstützt von ausgesuchten lokalen ExpertInnen, die großen Mysterien und Besonderheiten der jeweiligen Region eröffnen. Ob Herausforderungen im Natur- oder Artenschutz, die Bewahrung des besonderen kulturellen Erbes oder Fragen der sozialen Entwicklung: Eine Fair Trails® Experience ist immer einem faszinierenden Thema – von lokaler bis globaler Bedeutung – gewidmet. Und stets verbunden mit der Involvierung und aktiven Unterstützung eines Projektes, welches lokal und unbürokratisch für die Fair Trails® Ziele eintritt.

04 — ÖKOLOGISCHER FUSSABDRUCK

Nachhaltig
auf allen Ebenen

04

Sich von dem zu ernähren, was das Land her gibt, ist ein aktiver Beitrag für den Klima- & Umweltschutz wie auch für eine regionale Wertschöpfung. Und schmeckt meistens auch noch überaus köstlich. ©Trail Angels
Bei der Gestaltung einer Fair Trails® Experience legen wir mit unseren Partnern natürlich höchsten Wert, auf eine hohe ökologische Nachhaltigkeit. Auch um unseren Fußabdruck in der bereisten bzw. erwanderten Region möglichst klein zu halten. Dabei gehen wir nicht theoretisch, sondern möglichst praktikabel vor. Und legen so den Fokus mehr auf die ständige Aus- und Weiterbildung unserer Fair Trails® Partner, als auf kaum überprüfbare Kriterienkataloge. Denn eine gemeinsame Wertehaltung ist uns wichtiger als ständige Kontrollen. Von der Müllvermeidung, über das Müllmanagement, bis zum weitestgehenden Verzicht auf Inlandsflüge sowie die Verpflegung mit Nahrungsmitteln aus der Region sind nur einige wenige Beispiele der ökologischen Ausgestaltung unserer Fair Trails® Experiences.
05 — FAIRE ARBEITSBEDINGUNGEN

Mitgestalten
und bestärken

05

Smells like Team Spirit: Faire Arbeitsbedingungen sind einer der wichtigsten Pfeiler der Fair Trails® Experiences. Und erhöhen ganz nebenbei die Zufriedenheit der Trekking Crew. Diese Gruppe am Renjo La hat ganz offensichtlich Spaß an der Arbeit! ©Trail Angels

Die Frage, die sich uns hier stellt ist ebenso einfach formuliert, wie schwierig zu beantworten: Wie kann man gerechte Reisen in einer noch oft so ungerechten Welt gestalten? Es ist uns ungemein wichtig, dass unsere Fair Trails® Experiences sozial und wirtschaftlich nicht zu Lasten der Dienstleister vor Ort durchgeführt werden. Dafür suchen wir unsere lokalen Trekkingagenturen vor allem nach ihrem Willen, unsere Werte zu teilen, aus. Wir arbeiten mit ihnen gemeinsam an den Produkten und zeichnen sich nach Erfüllung der Hausaufgaben mit dem Fair Trails® Label aus. Damit stellen wir zum Beispiel faire Löhne und den bestmöglichen Versicherungsschutz für die Trekkingcrew sicher. Und eröffnen ihnen Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten und damit in der Folge auch soziale Aufstiegschancen.

06 – REGIONALE WERTSCHÖPFUNG

Welcome to your
home away from home

06

Das Comeback der guten alten Privatpension: Die Beherbergung in sogenannten Homestays, direkt bei den Familien eröffnet Reisenden inspirierende Begegnungen und den Familien eine optimale Wertschöpfung. ©Trail Angels
Neben der ökologischen und sozialen Nachhaltigkeit ist das Fair Trails® Programm natürlich auch auf die Erhöhung der regionalen Wertschöpfung ausgerichtet. Denn bei Fair Trails® geht die langfristige nachhaltige Entwicklung ganz klar vor einem kurzsichtigen, schnellen Profit. Damit die Destinationen wirklich einen Nutzen aus unseren reisen ziehen, bevorzugen wir bei allen Fair Trails® Experiences, wo dies möglich ist, das Lodge- und Homestay-Trekking gegenüber dem Zelttrekking. Übernachtet wird dabei in familiengeführten Lodges und Hotels bzw. direkt bei den Familien in sogenannten Homestays, damit die Einnahmen direkt bei den Einheimischen ankommen. Und wir legen höchsten Wert auf die Verwendung regionaler Lebensmittel. So wird neben den GastgeberInnen auch die örtliche Landwirtschaft gefördert.
07 — DAS WISSEN DER LOKALEN EXPERT*INNEN
Lernen
und entdecken

07

Tashi R. Ghale ist unser Fair Trails® Experte für den Snow Leopard Trail. Der Naturfotograph ist in verschiedene Forschungsprojekte involviert und hat sein Leben dem Schutz des Schneeleoparden gewidmet. ©Trail Angels
Ein unverrückbarer Eckpfeiler der Fair Trails® Experiences ist die Begleitung durch lokale ExpertInnen. Diese Fachleute zeichnet ein einzigartiges Wissen über die großen Mysterien und Geschichten der jeweiligen Fair Trails® Experience aus. Und eröffnet Dir erst so ein unvergleichliches, einzigartiges Reiseerlebnis. Mit unseren Fair Trails® Expertinnen heben wir die unentdeckten Schätze der Destination, stärken damit das regionale Selbstbewusstsein und sichern den ExpertInnen ein zusätzliches Einkommen. Und wir sind natürlich bemüht, Dir dafür die besten BegleiterInnen während der Fair Trails® Experience zur Seite zu stellen – vom vielfach ausgezeichneten Schneeleoparden Experten bis zum landesweit bekannten Foodblogger und Klimaaktivisten.
08 – ERLEBNISSE FÜRS GANZE LEBEN

Geschichten,
einzigartig & für immer dein

08

Elefanten sind keine Touristenbusse: Die Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge ist Pionier für einen artgerechten Umgang mit den sanften Riesen. Gerade deshalb ist der Fußmarsch durch den Chitwan Nationalpark, aufmerksam begleitet und bewacht ein unvergessliches Erlebnis. ©Trail Angels
Diese Wirkung zielt auf Dich: Fair Trails® Experiences eröffnen Dir Erlebnisse, die Du so sonst kaum oder nie erleben wirst. Und ganz sicher nie mehr vergisst. Nicht mehr und weniger als Erlebnisse und magische Momente fürs ganze Leben. Wobei bei den Fair Trails® Experiences nicht die bloße Sensation, sondern eine tiefgründige Erfahrung im Vordergrund steht. So tauchst Du tief in die Geheimnisse des Fair Trails® Universums ein, wirst in die Herausforderungen der Destination involviert, wechselst dadurch die Perspektive und kehrst so mit einem neuen Blick auf das Erlebte und Gesehene in Deine Heimat zurück. Und damit hat die Fair Trails® Experience nicht nur in der Destination, sondern auch bei Dir einen Wandel ausgelöst.

09 – ENGAGEMENT FÜR EIN PROJEKT

Dein Einsatz
am richtigen Fleck

09

Vor der Vogelscheuche hat der Schneeleopard schon lange keinen Respekt mehr. Heute wird die mystische Großkatze mit Lichtfallen, sogenannten „Fox-Lights“ von den Dörfern und Herden fern gehalten. ©Trail Angels

Die Förderung eines regionalen Projektes mit einem Teil der erzielten Reiseumsätze aus den Fair Trails® Programmen wäre noch die einfachste Übung. So ziehen die Trail Angels aktuell 4% von ihrer Provision des Reisepreises ab und setzen diesen Beitrag für ein ausgewähltes Projekt ein. Anspruchsvoller ist es jedoch, das richtige Projekt mit größtmöglicher Wirkung auszusuchen. Und dafür professionelle Partner vor Ort, wie die Snow Leopard Conservancy zu finden, die diese Projekte betreuen und langfristig mit Leben erfüllen. Aber auch das Programm der Fair Trails® Experience so zu gestalten, dass Du aktiv in das Projekt eingebunden wirst. Wie bei der Überbringung von Lichtfallen an die Yak Hirten am Snow Leopard Trail oder von dringend benötigten Wasserfiltern an die entlegenen Dörfer in den Mahabharat Bergen am Local Life Trail. All das haben wir für unsere Fair Trails Experiences umgesetzt – und darauf sind wir stolz!

10 – VERBÜNDETER WERDEN

Sieh mit uns die Welt
als globales Dorf

10

Wandel durch Reisen: Fair Trails® Experiences eröffnet einzigartige, tiefgründige Erlebnisse und lädt Dich ein Verbündeter für regionale Nachhaltigkeit zu werden. Damit den jungen Menschen im Himalaya und anderswo Flügel wachsen. ©Trail Angels
Die Fair Trails® Experiences haben den Anspruch, mehr als nachhaltiges und verantwortungsbewusstes Reisen zu sein. Sie sind viel mehr auch „Role Models“ für einen neuen, einen transformativen Tourismus. Reisen, die sowohl in der Destination als auch bei Dir, dem Reisenden, einen Wandel auslösen. Denn durch Dein Eintauchen, Deinen Perspektivenwechsel und Dein Engagement wirst Du weniger als Reisender, denn viel mehr als Involvierte/r in Dein Leben zurückkehren. Geschärft mit einem neuen Blick auf die großen Herausforderungen außerhalb unserer Wohlstandsgesellschaft. Und mit dem Bewusstsein, dass Du mit Deiner Reise einen kleinen aber wichtigen Beitrag für eine bessere Welt geleistet hast. Deshalb messen wir unseren Erfolg nicht in der Anzahl von Buchungen, sondern ob wir Verbündete gewinnen. Verbündete für unsere Mission mit den Fair Trails®, von gerechten Reisen in einer noch nicht allzu gerechten Welt. Trage diese Idee doch weiter, kehre vielleicht einmal zu einer Fair Trails Experience zurück und bleibe den Projekten verbunden. Werde so Verbündeter. Denn diese Mission benötigt viele Verbündete!

Life Time Experience

Du möchtest reisen und mit uns deinen eigenen Beitrag leisten? Hier findest du alle Informationen und Angebote unserer verschiedenen Fair Trails®!